New Dragon Age: Inquisition Details Emerge; 40 Different Endings, Five Areas to Explore

Dragon Age: Inquisition is set to be Bioware’s biggest game yet. The upcoming issue of the Official Xbox Magazine has a feature on the game which shines a light on many aspects of the title.

This information comes to us from a Bioware forum user who got a copy of OXM from a magazine shop in Singapore.

The game will feature five areas: Ferelden, The Free Marches, Orlais, Nevarra and the Dales. The last three of these places have only been talked in previous games. Players will remember that Dragon Age: Origins took place in Ferelden while Dragon Age II took place in the Free Marches.

Your actions in these areas will have significant repercussions. You can “affect environmental changes to drastically influence local settlements, establish trade routes, capture territory and disrupt the local ecosystem.” Hunting a particular animal or harvesting a specific species of plant can lead to their scarcity and allow other species to become dominant. Killing specific groups of enemies in an area or dragons will also impact a region.

On the subject of DLC companions, Creative Director Mike Laidlaw had this to say:

Because of how deeply enmeshed in the system companion characters are, we can’t just add them on the fly; part of them has to be shipped on the disc…which was led to criticism that we’re forcing people to pay for content they already own. It’s not the case, but we’ve decided this time to not go that route. There will be no DLC party members.

Series writer David Gaider had this to say about the revamped dialogue wheel:

We have three wheels that we use in response to any given piece of dialogue. One of those is what we call the ‘tone wheel’, which is mostly for role-playing choices. The other two are the ‘choice wheel’- for taking an action or stating an opinion-and the ‘reaction wheel,’ for emotional moments

Your character will be the Inquisitor and like DAO, you will be able to choose what gender they are as well as their species. The character will have a total of four voices (two male and two female). The reason given for why there weren’t a total of eight voices is due to hardware limitations (presumably of the last-gen consoles). Each player’s origin will play out more or less the same as it is tied directly into the main overarching plot of the game. The player will have the unique ability to close rifts from The Fade that have opened up throughout Thedas.

Lastly, the game will feature 40 different endings. These endings are influenced by actions taken during the course of the story. The endings are said to be significantly different from one another and won’t just feature minor variations.

Dragon Age: Inquisition will be released on the PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One this fall.

Join the Discussion

  • Rickowned

    Wow they managed 40 different colors?

    • ISISSecretAgent

      all different shades of gray

      • Rickowned

        This smoke is less dark than this smoke

  • Sweet baby jesus this sounds absolutely incredible!!!

  • XyzzySqrl

    Wow. Thanks for ruining DLC, complainers. Thanks a lot for that.

    • Rick ಠ_ಠ

      You are so very, very welcome! I know you’re mad though, its ok it’s good for you, I promise.

      • XyzzySqrl

        I don’t want “good for me”, I want more stuff.
        …Can’t get mad at you when you take that tone though.

        • Rick ಠ_ಠ

          They said they aren’t doing character DLC, which is good. They will more than likely do events/quests/areas DLC. Adding more dungeons or more features or events and other things. This game is supposed to be an open world style type deal akin to Skyrim.

          I just think that spending money for new skins or new characters was lame on them. Look at DA:O, the DLC they had were almost downright full on expansions with new areas and items that carried over. I want THAT for DLC.

          • XyzzySqrl

            For the most part the Origins DLC was split off into its own thing, though. I got the impression their map was too crowded and they couldn’t add more locations, so instead we got a slew of “this is an alternate universe, this is this character’s backstory, here’s a side mission”…
            None of it felt like it was actually connected to the game I was trying to play. It was more like “Here’s Dragon Age Origins: And a chapter of some other story using that engine, knocked together like a Neverwinter Nights module.”
            Never played DA2, maybe it was integrated better there.

  • Ben Jeanotte

    Orlais was the place where Dragon Age Awakenings took place, so it is inaccurate to say it was only talked about in the previous games.