A Classic Returns — System Shock: Enhanced Edition Releases Today Alongside a Launch Trailer

on September 22, 2015 5:41 PM

Night Dive Studios has brought the classic first-person shooter/RPG hybrid System Shock to PC as an enhanced port, System Shock: Enhanced Edition.

The re-release features resolutions up to 1024×768 (compared to the original 640×480), and a native 854×480 widescreen mode. You can see the differences between the versions in the screenshots below:

System Shock

System Shock (2)

Gameplay has been also streamlined with a toggleable mouselook mode that including more intuitive inventory and item management, combined with assorted bug-fixes and remappable controls.

Currently players can purchase the title at a 40% discount for all System Shock 2 owners and 20% off for everyone. The discounted offer will last until Tuesday, September 29 at 6:59 AM GMT.

A Twitch TV livestream will also be taking place tomorrow at 6:00 PM CET, 4:00 PM GMT, 9:00 AM PDT and 12:00 PM EDT with Stephen Kick (Founder and CEO of Night Dive Studios) and Paul Neurath (Creative Director at Looking Glass Studios) for an in-depth discussion on System Shock and its many influences in game design to date.

Watch the trailer below and relive the haunting classic again.

 /  Staff Writer
A Reviews Editor at DualShockers who is always looking to improve her writing and delve deeper into the industry. She is shamelessly in love with JRPGs and can easily rack up 100+ hours from level grinding alone. Even though she graduated from Hofstra University with a B.A. in Public Relations, her talent and wisdom (read: blind luck) landed her a job at DualShockers, where she continues to plot her escape by betraying their secrets for power and world domination.