Former Final Fantasy XIV Players Will Be “Welcomed Back” in A Realm Reborn With Two Weeks of Game Time

on May 29, 2013 10:17 PM

We already knew that everyone that played the original Final Fantasy XIV will be able to download the client of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn for free. What we did not precisely know is if that’d come with any game time, or previous customers would have to pay the monthly fee up front to access the game.

Luckily Producer and Director Naoki Yoshida just announced that we will indeed get to try the game starting on release day before having to pull out the wallet, even if for a limited time. Everyone that previously played Final Fantasy XIV will get to play A Realm Reborn for free for two weeks as part of a “Welcome Back Campaign” on top of phase 3 and 4 of the beta, that will include all former subscribers as well.

Producer and Director Yoshida here.
I apologize for the delay in preparing various announcements.
With the beginning of official service on 8/27, we will be implementing a two-week long Welcome Back Campaign for those of you who have a FFXIV 1.0 service account, regardless if you are a Legacy Member or if you have Collector’s Edition/Standard Edition. During this time period you can try out FFXIV: ARR for free, so please take this opportunity to check out the game!
Once the date draws closer we will be announcing the details on the Lodestone as well as sending out an email from the development team.

In addition to this Square Enix also announced the precise dates and times for the Final Fantasy XIV-related livestreams from E3 that were previously announced. They’re as follows:

Letter from the Producer Live: E3 Edition Part 1 (Japanese Language)
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 at 4:00pm (PDT)/7:00pm (EDT)/23:00 (GMT)

FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Battle Event & Community Recap (English Language)
Wednesday, June 12, 2013 at 4:00pm (PDT)/7:00pm (EDT)/23:00 (GMT)

Letter from the Producer Live: E3 Edition Part 2 (English Language)
Thursday, June 13, 2013 at 2:00pm (PDT)/5:00pm (EDT)/21:00 (GMT)

The stream will be broadcasted on the Square Enix Presents Youtube channel.

Is your body ready to brave the reborn Eorzea? I know mine is.

 

 /  Executive News Editor
Hailing from sunny (not as much as people think) Italy and long standing gamer since the age of Mattel Intellivision and Sinclair ZX Spectrum. Definitely a multi-platform gamer, he still holds the old dear PC nearest to his heart, while not disregarding any console on the market. RPGs (of any nationality) and MMORPGs are his daily bread, but he enjoys almost every other genre, prominently racing simulators, action and sandbox games. He is also one of the few surviving fans of the flight simulator genre on Earth.