Star Wars: The Old Republic Invites You to Play For Free this Week End

on March 13, 2012 2:15 PM

If you still didn’t try Star Wars: The Old Republic this weekend may be your chance as BioWare is opening the floodgates with a four days long “Weekend Pass” free trial for those that are still on the fence.

The trial will be available for a limited time only and will start on Thursday, March 15th, 12:01AM CT / 5:01AM GMT and end on Monday, March 19th at 2:00AM CT / 7:00AM GMT.

Players that will take advantage of the offer will be able to play all eight classes, access the four origin planets (Hutta, Tython, Korriban and Ord Mantell), the two capital planets (Coruscant and Dromund Kaas), PvP Warzones and the two early flashpoints The Black Talon and The Esseles.

Even if not officially mentioned, both factions’ fleets will presumably be available, as they serve as a bridge between all the aforementioned content.

BioWare and Electronic Arts may actually be on to something with this kind of aggressive marketing. Too may times I’ve seen developers of pay to play MMORPGs skimp excessively on this kind of offers during the initial months after release, limiting the visibility and accessibility of their games to begin with.

In this times of easily available free to play games offering some fun for free early may net the game quite a few new subscribers afterwards.

 /  Executive News Editor
Hailing from sunny (not as much as people think) Italy and long standing gamer since the age of Mattel Intellivision and Sinclair ZX Spectrum. Definitely a multi-platform gamer, he still holds the old dear PC nearest to his heart, while not disregarding any console on the market. RPGs (of any nationality) and MMORPGs are his daily bread, but he enjoys almost every other genre, prominently racing simulators, action and sandbox games. He is also one of the few surviving fans of the flight simulator genre on Earth.