All Previous Star Wars Games Now Non-Canon

The entirety of the Expanded Universe of Star Wars is now non-canon, Lucasfilm has declared.

Previous video games, comics, novels and other forms of media are now considered to be separate from the plot outlined in the six films.

At present, only George Lucas’s six movies and The Clone Wars series are considered canonical

The upcoming Star Wars games under production by EA will be part of the new canon for Star Wars, along with all other new media.

Now, with an exciting future filled with new cinematic instalments of Star Wars, all aspects of Star Wars storytelling moving forward will be connected.

This clean slate approach to the canon is driven in part by George Lucas’s own approach to the Expanded Universe of Star Wars

While Lucasfilm always strived to keep the stories created for the EU consistent with our film and television content as well as internally consistent, Lucas always made it clear that he was not beholden to the EU. He set the films he created as the canon.

These stories are the immovable objects of Star Wars history, the characters and events to which all other tales must align.

Part of this rewriting of the canon may also be attributed to the upcoming Star Wars movies, which to allow freedom for filmakers are departing from the chronology outlined in Expanded Universe fiction.

In order to give maximum creative freedom to the filmmakers and also preserve an element of surprise and discovery for the audience, Star Wars Episodes VII-IX will not tell the same story told in the post-Return of the Jedi Expanded Universe. 

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Thomas Luke

Video Trailers

Override 2: Super Mech League - Dan Moroboshi Gameplay Trailer
Ninjala x Monster Hunter Rise - DLC Trailer

Got a tip?

Let us know