Borderlands 3 is Free to Play This Weekend on Consoles, PC, and Stadia

Borderlands 3 is Free to Play This Weekend on Consoles, PC, and Stadia

Borderlands 3 is going free to play this weekend across all platforms, and progress from the free trial will carry over to the full game.

Since its release last year, Borderlands 3 brought back its signature blend of shooting and looting for a new generation across consoles and PC. With the game coming up on its one year anniversary, Gearbox is holding a free play weekend for new players to check out the most recent installment of the shooter series.

Gearbox Software has announced that it is hosting a free play weekend for Borderlands 3 across PS4, Xbox One, Google Stadia, and PC (via Steam) from now through August 9, 2020. For those that might have had an interest in checking out Borderlands 3 and want to play with friends, this weekend will give the opportunity to try out the game entirely for free across all platforms. The free play weekend will give players access to everything available in the base game so far, and progress from the free trial will carry over for players that end up purchasing the full game (which is discounted across all platforms).

You can check out the start and end times for each platform below for its free play weekend:

Xbox One Free Play

Starts: August 6, 12:00 AM PT / 3:00 AM ET / 8:00 AM BST / 3:00 PM UTC+8 / 5:00 PM AEDT
Ends:
 August 9, 11:59 PM PT / August 10, 2:59 AM ET / 7:59 AM BST / 2:59 PM UTC+8 / 4:59 PM AEDT

PS4 Free Play (requires PlayStation Plus)

Starts: August 6, 9:00 AM PT (SIE America) / 5:00 PM BST (SIE Europe)
Ends:
 August 9, 9:00 AM PT (SIE America) / 5:00 PM BST (SIE Europe)

PC (Steam) Free Play

Starts: August 6, 8:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM ET / 4:00 PM BST / 11:00 PM UTC+8 / August 7, 1:00 AM AEDT
Ends:
 August 12, 10:00 AM PT / 1:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM BST / August 13, 1:00 AM UTC+8 / 3:00 AM AEDT

Stadia Free Play

Starts: August 6, 9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM BST / August 7, 12:00 AM UTC+8 / 2:00 AM AEDT
Ends:
 August 10, 9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM BST / August 11, 12:00 AM UTC+8 / 2:00 AM AEDT

Aside from the base game, Borderlands 3 has also released several story DLC expansions over the course of the year. Most recently this included the Western-themed Bounty of Blood expansion that released this past June, with one more piece of DLC to release sometime this year as part of its Season Pass.

Borderlands 3 is available now on PS4, Xbox One, Google Stadia, and PC.