Chronicles of Refugia Visual Novel Coming To Steam This August

The studio's first visual novel has a stacked cast

August 5, 2022

YOX-Project has released the Steam store page for Dreams of the Immortal Romanesque: Chronicles of Refugia today, which is the first visual novel title from the developer Medium. The release date is August 27, 2022, and the game is expected to have both English and Japanese language support.

The text adventure Chronicles of Refugia depicts the mysterious relationship between humans and non-human species in a future Asia, where many large cities have been submerged by the rising sea. The other races look very much like humans, and among them, the werewolves and vampires are the most populous. The main objective of the game’s characters is to prevent the extinction of all living species, players will witness the story through three different characters, all named Alice.


Chronicles of Refugia features a werewolf, a human and a third unknown individual, all named ‘Alice’. Each of the three heroines has her own ambitions and is faced with the same danger of the extinction of their kind. Red Alice is a daughter of a werewolf clan that is seeking to rule the world. White Alice is an ordinary doctor who struggles between her role and her sense of values while working in an ethically questionable facility. The final Alice is Blue Alice whose story is unknown. There are two extra stories in addition to the main plot lines.

Chronicles of Refugia will be released in an episodic format with unique branching paths. Some stories will have one ending, some have several endings and some will let you work out the details as you go, using various key choices and player decisions. The game will involve many beautiful locations, and the scenario will be written by veterans of the industry, such as Takako Kano (Diabolik Lovers/Ken Ga Kimi) and Nikai Ninomae (Norn 9/Galtia).

According to the official website, the music in Chronicles of Refugia will be produced by Zizz Studio, with Kanako Ito (Steins;Gate/Chaos;Child) doing the vocals, along with Kazuhiro Watanabe and Stella Lee Jones. The localization producer will be Molly Lee, who previously worked on TaishoXAlice and You and Me and Her: A Love Story, so fans can expect a product of remarkable quality. Players can now add the game to their Wishlist.

Mohamed Hassan

Mohamed (He/Him) from Egypt is Interested in gaming as a storytelling medium and how it can give shape to new emotions and life lessons. He is currently learning the Japanese language and is interested on learning more about the Japanese culture and other cultures and how they are represented in gaming. Also a Long term fan of JRPGs, Indie games and VIsual Novels.

Read more of Mohamed's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know