Cold War Divisions: How League Play Ranking Works?

Cold War Divisions: How League Play Ranking Works?

League Play is the new mode for Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War with new ranking and divisions systems.

League Play is the brand new mode in Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War that was officially launched yesterday on February 8. In League Play, you will take part in competitive matches with players of the same skill level as you. Cold War Divisions will divide players into different groups, and it’s on you to win matches, show a great performance, and rank up. League Play is available to all players all along the week, but it has been divided into Weekday and Weekend events, at the end of which you can see an increase or decrease in your Division and Rank. Let’s get started:

Step 1 – Five Placement Matches

Before starting your journey in Cold War Divisions, you need to play five Placement Matches in the League Play mode. Based on your performance and win-rate in the matches, you will be thrown into a Ladder and a Skill Division.

Step 2 – Skill Divisions and Division Ladders

There are a total of five different Skill Divisions in the League Play mode. There will be up to 50 players in the Skill Division as you are in, all competing to be the top player in the Division Ladder. Aside from your own performance that changes your position in your Ladder, the total number of active players in the Skill Division and their performances will also affect your position in the Ladder.

Cold War Divisions, Skill Divisions

Competitor, Advanced, Expert, Elite, and Master are the available Skill Divisions. Be aware that only the top 2% of players will be in the Master division, with the top 15% in the Elite division, the top 30% in the Expert division, and the top 50% in the Advanced division. The remaining players will go into the Competitor division.

Step 3 – Get Ladder Points

In order to have the best performance in your Ladder Division, you need to earn Ladder Points that can be achieved in three ways:

  • Winning matches will get you Ladder Points
  • Winning consecutive matches will get you Scorestreak Bonus Points
  • Play League Play every day will get you Daily Bonus Points

Be aware that losing matches will decrease your position in the Ladder Division. Also, quitting an ongoing match will have heavy penalties, affecting your Division status.

Step 4 – Earn Gems to Rank Up

At the end of each League Play event, you will earn Gems based on your position in your Skill Division. The more you earn Gems, the higher your rank goes. If you want to get yourself to valuable ranks like Gold or Diamond, you need to claim the first or top 5 or top 10 spots of your Skill Division consecutively. For example, getting a permanent Diamond rank will require you to be the top player of your division six times.

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War is now Available on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, and PC.