Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is a “Remaster Plus”; Autosaves, Checkpoints, and More Revealed

Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is a “Remaster Plus”; Autosaves, Checkpoints, and More Revealed

As you may know, Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy (Crash Bandicoot, Crash Bandicoot 2: Cortex Strikes Back and Crash Bandicoot: Warped)  got a new trailer today during PlayStation Experience, but at the time details about the remastered from the ground-up trilogy were scarce. Well, the PlayStation Blog has taken care of that.

According to developer Vicarious Visions, N. Sane Trilogy Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is not just a remake, but a “remaster plus.”

Dan Tanguay Game Director at Vicarious Visions added:

“The first step in our remaster plus was to truly understand what made the Naughty Dog games special and why fans still love them to this day. The best way to understand a game is to play it, and boy, did we play the Crash games. We played them to the point that we broke controllers from mashing the jump button too much. We studied original concept art and commercials for inspiration. And we went even further back to understand the material that originally inspired Naughty Dog, including Who Framed Roger Rabbit? and Looney Tunes.”

The Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy contains gameplay rebuilt from scratch, as well as Vicarious Visions’ own layering of lush and zany art, animation, and audio. It also contains the following:

  • Rebuilt levels, based on the original geometry:


  • Rebuilt characters, following the original designs:


  • Rebuilt cinematics, inspired by the originals:


The game will also feature a slab of new features according to Vicarious Visions, that we apply across all three games.

Here are the new “work-in-progess” features:

  • Unified checkpointing & save game system. This includes manual and auto-saving. (Yes, the first game now has a proper save game system!)
  • Unified menu system. Here an example of the Pause menu for Crash Bandicoot:


  • Time Trials in all three games!


Lastly, one last screenshot was released:


Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is currenlty slated to release sometime in 2017 for PS4. It will cost $39.99 USD.