Anime

Demon Slayer season 2 episode 9: Release time, preview for ‘Entertainment District’

January 30, 2022

What time will Demon Slayer season 2 episode 9 of the Entertainment District arc release for streaming and has an official preview been shared?

Another week, another outstanding episode of Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba.

The series is going from strength to strength with the Entertainment District arc, with this week’s episode focusing on the battle between Gyutaro and our heroes.

However, anime fans around the world remain as impatient as ever, with many already looking ahead to what next weekend’s broadcast will have in store.

So, what time will Demon Slayer season 2 episode 9 release online and has an official preview trailer/synopsis been shared?

Release date and time confirmed for Demon Slayer season 2 episode 9…

The next episode of Demon Slayer, season 2 episode 9 of the Entertainment District Arc, is scheduled to premiere worldwide on Sunday, January 30th for the vast majority of international fans.

The 16th episode from season 2 (when including the Mugen Train re-adaptation) will release simultaneously on the Crunchyroll and Funimation platforms, once it airs domestically in Japan.

However, fans should note that season 2 episode 9 of Demon Slayer will be airing on January 30th for premium subscribers only, from the following times:

  • Pacific Time – 8 AM PST
  • Eastern Time – 11 AM EST
  • British Time – 4 PM GMT
  • European Time – 5 PM CET
  • India Time – 9:30 PM IST
  • Philippine Time – 12 AM PHT
  • Australia Time – 2:30 AM ACDT

Both platforms offer a 14-day free trial period for premium, with Crunchyroll currently costing new users £7.99 and Funimation at £4.99 per month. The next Demon Slayer episode will be released on both platforms on Sunday, February 6th or Monday, February 7th for free.

The hit anime series is also actually available on Netflix, but access is limited to Southeast and South Asian territories -with the North American and European Netflix versions only possessing season 1.  

ATTACK ON TITAN: Why did Eren betray Zeke in episode 78?

Concerns over a potential delay…

There had been concerns this week that the remaining Demon Slayer episodes could have potentially been delayed.

This was because the voice actor for Tanjiro, Natsuki Hanae had to self-isolate after coming into contact with a production staff member who had tested positive for coronavirus.

The actor would take to social media to reassure fans that he was healthy, as well as that he had taken his recording equipment into isolation.

Thankfully, the production of upcoming Demon Slayer episodes will not be affected by Hanae’s isolation – although various live events had to be cancelled in Japan, including for The Duke of Death and His Maid.

ATTACK ON TITAN: Fans react to an incredible episode on Twitter

Preview trailer and plot shared online…

Following the conclusion of season 2 episode 8, a short preview trailer was aired for Demon Slayer’s next broadcast.

The next episode will be titled “Defeating an Upper Rank Demon” and the preview featured Tengen getting some much-needed advice from Rengoku.

The series’ Japanese website has also provided a short synopsis for the upcoming episode:

“Tanjiro, Zenitsu, and Inosuke joined under Uzui. Zenitsu and Inosuke face the fallen princess, and Tanjiro and Uzui confront Gyutaro, but the onslaught of the fallen princess and Tanjiro Kamado is forced to struggle. However, with the support of Hinatsuru and the cooperation of Uzui, the blade of Tanjiro approaches the neck of Gyutaro.” – Episode 9 synopsis, via Kimetsu.com.

DEMON SLAYER: Why some fans believe the anime is being censored

The next Hashira might be teased for season 3…

Demon Slayer season 2 episode 7 featured Lord Tengen facing off against Gyutaro, the demon who emerged from Daki. During the battle, Tengen explains how he isn’t skilled or talented compared to the other Hashira.

As Tengen narrates, we see images of two of his fellow Hashira, Muichiro Tokito (the Mist Hashira) and Gyomei Himejima (The Stone Hashira).

Anime-only fans believe that these two characters will be the Hashira that upcoming seasons will focus on; being teased in this season as to foreshadow future main characters.

“See, this country is vast. It’s teeming with people who would blow your mind. Some are complete enigmas. Some can take up a sword and become a Hashira in two months.” – Lord Tengen, Demon Slayer.

An update on Demon Slayer season 2’s Toonami release…

Whilst the vast majority of Demon Slayer fans be watching the anime through Crunchyroll and Funimation, a significant portion of fans will be waiting for the Toonami release.

Unfortunately, the co-creator of Toonami and SVP of Action and Anime at WarnerMedia Jason DeMarco, has recently said that season 2 won’t be airing on Toonami at all.

Replying to a fan question on Twitter, DeMarco said that “The movie [Mugen Train] doing so well has made the price… uh… higher than we can afford, let’s say.”

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

Anime
Tom Llewellyn

Tom covers everything from anime and manga to Korean dramas and gaming. Tom boasts an undergraduate degree in both Animal Behaviour from Aberystwyth University and a postgraduate degree Science Communications from UWE Bristol and has over 5 years’ experience in writing about the weird and wonderful world of global entertainment.

Read more of Tom's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know