Destiny 2 Remembers Achievements Through Accounts Rather Than Characters
Destiny 2 rewards players who played the first game, but Bungie's Community Manager has clarified just how it remembers who's done what.
Destiny 2 launched this morning, and as thousands of players start up the game for the first time, it is important that they know how their previous saves in the original Destiny will impact this new adventure. While players have known that their loot– which they have likely grinded hours for– would not be transferred, and consequently how their characters would be moved into the new game, the game’s Community Manager, David “Deej” Dague, put a question to rest: “what happens if my Exo was ugly?”
Players who have crafted characters that they are not proud of, be it a poorly chosen tattoo, horn, or hairstyle, can rest easy in knowing that the game’s unique dialogue and “memories” introduction for players who have played through the game are saved to the player’s account and not the character itself. This means that you can delete your previous characters and craft a fresh new face to take with you into Destiny 2.
Destiny 2 knows your account rather than your character, so you can create a new Guardian (with a new face) and bring the memories with you. pic.twitter.com/JRQZTYVi5H
— DeeJ (@DeeJ_BNG) September 6, 2017
Destiny 2 is out now for PS4 and Xbox One. While we are not done with our review just yet, you can check out our review impressions here.You can also check out some of the new game’s features here, including Heroic Public Events, Adventures, and Lost Sectors.