Destiny 2 to Go Offline for Maintenance Next Week; New Hotfix Announced

Destiny 2 will be going offline for a few hours on Tuesday, October 3, 2017, in order to prepare the game for hotfix 1.0.3.1.

on September 30, 2017 5:50 AM

If you don’t want to stop playing Destiny 2 then prepared to be disappointed. Developer Bungie has announced that its hit first person shooter will be going offline for for maintenance a short period of time in the near future.

Starting at 11:00 a.m. EDT (8:00 a.m. PDT) on Tuesday, October 3, 2017, players will no longer be able to sign into the game. Then, at 12:00 p.m. EDT (9:00 a.m. PDT) anyone who is still in the game will be kicked back to the title screen, regardless of whether or not they are in the middle of an activity. Finally, at 3:00 p.m EDT (12:00 p.m. PDT) the maintenance is expected to be completed. This however is all tentative, as a lot of times maintenance can go over the expected duration.

The reason for this outage is so that Bungie can properly install hotfix 1.0.3.1, which fixes a number of small issues with the game, including raid milestones not being properly documented, loss of access to Veteran’s Transmat Effect, special engrams being granted at low levels, and more. The full list of patch notes will be released when it goes live on Tuesday.

Destiny 2 was just recently updated to version 1.0.3, which added Faction Rallies, and fixed a ton of other bugs.

The game was originally released on September 5, 2017, and is available on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.

 / 
Tanner Pierce is a Staff Writer at Dualshockers.com. When he isn't writing, he attends classes at Palm Beach State College and will be majoring in Journalism at Edinboro University in Pennsylvania in the Fall.