Dota Major Championship Announcement Brings an Annual Tournament for Every Season

on April 25, 2015 4:23 PM

Valve has announced a new tradition in the Dota 2 tournament scene. The Dota Major Championship will consist of four tournaments that will occur annually. Three will be hosted by third party organizers taking place around the world. Meanwhile the fourth, and largest, International competition will presumably stay the same. Valve promised more information as the Fall tournament approaches, stating,

These marquee tournament events will see top teams competing at premier venues around the world. There will be limited trade periods during the year for participating teams. As the Fall event approaches, more tournament details will be announced.

Previously Dota 2 players have only had The International to look forward to, a summer event hosted by Valve in Seattle since 2012. The prize pool frequently reached into the millions, with this upcoming tournament set for August 3rd to the 8th. These new Dota Major Championships will be worldwide instead of based in Seattle, allowing for a wider reach.

The Dota Major Championships is also a way for Valve to bring roster stability, as teams that hope to participate in the events will be required to follow limited roster trade periods. Valve hopes that these new rules will increase both fan engagement and competitive stability.

There is no word on if these new tournaments will also contain large prize pools that may devalue The International or be entirely separate. There are other unofficial tournaments based around eSports such as Dota 2, though none have the large prize pool of The International.

 /  Staff Writer
Born in Queens, raised in Vegas, living in Vancouver. 25, loves dogs, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, and long form video critiques.