News

Fallout 76 Beta Bug Deletes 50GB Data Forcing Players to Reschedule

Fallout 76 beta had some serious issues as excited players tried to launch the game due to a bug that ended up deleting 50GB worth of data

Eager Fallout 76 fans who were hoping to jump onto the much-anticipated PC beta yesterday were greeted with quite a few issues. Many players preloaded the beta early just so they could hop on when it went live on the Bethesda.net launcher, but just before they could, Fallout 76 ran before it could even walk and got smashed with a bug that deleted the entire 48Gb preload.

Through the medium of Twitter, creators Bethesda did throw a warning flare asking people to “not click any buttons on the client for the time being.” but, it was too late for some poor folk as the bug made its way in which forced them to re-download the entire Fallout 76 beta again.

Thankfully, Bethesda was on hand to “make good” with players and to extend the beta phase, but it’s still a huge pain in the ass for fans to have to redownload the entire 50GB yet again.

The new four-hour extension means that the November 1st beta session will now end at 8 pm PT, 11 pm ET, and 3 am GMT. Fingers crossed that all goes well this time!

Fallout 76 will release on PS4, Xbox One, and PC on November 14. If you haven’t done so, you can pre-order the game right now to hopefully ensure your copy.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Rachael Fiddis

Rachael, who is Deputy Editor, has been gaming for many years. Some of her favourite video games include The Witcher 3 and The Last of Us but also loves a good indie title. Gaming Culture is where her heart lies and spends many hours sieving through gaming fan art and cosplay displays. Other than gaming, Rachael is a book nerd and music lover.

Video Trailers

FINAL FANTASY VII REMAKE INTERGRADE | Final Trailer
Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin - Trailer 3

Got a tip?

Let us know