Final Fantasy XV: Check Out The New PS4 Main Menu Translated in English

on August 30, 2015 1:11 PM

Yesterday, during Final Fantasy XV‘s Active Time Report broadcast, Game Director Hajime Tabata introduced a new main menu for the PS4 version of the game. Unfortunately, it was in Japanese. To help you understand the menu items, we ran it through our Photoshopga II magic.

You can see the results at the bottom of the post, and here’s a list of the menu items, most of which are pretty familiar to Final Fantasy fans. Yet, there are some prominent additions.

  • マップ = Map
  • ドライブ = Drive
  • クエスト = Quests
  • 作戦 = Strategy
  • 武器 = Weapons
  • アビリティ = Abilities
  • 魔法 = Magic
  • 召喚 = Summons
  • アイテム = Items
  • コレクション = Collections

The Summons menu is quite interesting, as it may indicate the presence of some level of customization or progression for the game’s Eidolons. The Collections menu confirms the presence of collectibles, that Tabata-san hinted at in the past.

We also see a Phantom Sword menu item at the top. It includes thirteen dots, three of which seem to be lit up.

The looks of the new main menu is definitely sleek, but there’s another relevant element of interest. The main characters seem to be arranged in a way that leaves room for a fifth on the left. Your guess is as good as mine on whether this is to accommodate a guest character (Tabata-san hinted to this as well, in the past) or something else.


 /  Executive News Editor
Hailing from sunny (not as much as people think) Italy and long standing gamer since the age of Mattel Intellivision and Sinclair ZX Spectrum. Definitely a multi-platform gamer, he still holds the old dear PC nearest to his heart, while not disregarding any console on the market. RPGs (of any nationality) and MMORPGs are his daily bread, but he enjoys almost every other genre, prominently racing simulators, action and sandbox games. He is also one of the few surviving fans of the flight simulator genre on Earth.