Guides

Fortnite Goes Down on July 22 - Epic Games Responds

By Sam Woods

July 22, 2021

There’s nothing worse than having a killer match on your favourite online game, only for the servers to go down.

Unfortunately, for many players, that’s exactly what happened in the ultra-popular battle royale Fortnite today, on Thursday, July 22.

The issue impacted many players and has in fact, caused Epic to issue a response.

Here’s everything we know about why Fortnite is Down on July 22 and exactly what Epic had to say.

Bugha Arrives To The Fortnite Icon Series

BridTV
3578
Bugha Arrives To The Fortnite Icon Series
829751
829751
center
26546

What Happened To Fortnite on July 22?

Players started to report issues with Fortnite around 3:30 PM BST (10:30 AM ET/7:30 AM PT), however, the issues really started to ramp up an hour or two later, at around 4:45 PM BST (11:45 AM ET/8:45 AM PT).

Players were unable to do anything in the game, including matchmaking and dropping into the battle royale.

How Did Epic Games Respond To Fortnite Going Down on July 22.

According to a tweet put out by the official Epic Games/Fortnite Status Twitter account, the issue wasn’t strictly limited to Fortnite.

Apparently, the outage is part of a “broader internet issue” that is “affecting a range of online services”.

Their full statement can be read below:

“Fortnite is currently impacted by a broader internet issue affecting a range of online services. We’ll provide an update when players are able to jump in as normal.”

Unfortunately, despite being aware of the issue, as it’s seemingly out of Epic Games’ hands, there is no ETA on when the game will be back online.

Sit tight folks!

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

Video Trailers

Pokémon UNITE Now Available on Nintendo Switch!
Fracked - Demo Launch Trailer | PS VR
Sam Woods
@CaptainWoodsy

Sam is the Managing Editor at DualShockers. He's been playing video games for as long as he can remember and you can regularly find him on his Nintendo Switch. When he's not playing games, he'll no doubt be suffering watching his beloved Ipswich Town.

Read more of Sam's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know