Anime

FreakAngels anime: Release date, time, streaming, and plot explored

January 27, 2022

Crunchyroll is set to premiere their latest original anime this week, but what date and time will ‘FreakAngels’ release worldwide?

The Winter broadcasting slate is in full-flow, with the likes of Demon Slayer, My Dress-Up Darling and Attack on Titan dominating the global anime conversation.

However, one of the most highly-anticipated anime series of the Winter schedule is still to premiere, FreakAngels.

The upcoming series has some serious hype behind it, with its official trailer garnering more than 200,000 views on YouTube.

So, what is the new anime about, how can fans watch it online and most importantly, what date and time will FreakAngels release worldwide?

DUALSHOCKERS VIDEO OF THE DAY

FreakAngels plot explored…

FreakAngels is a post-apocalyptic action anime series, adapting the hit 2008 webcomic by Warren Ellis. The upcoming television adaptation is yet another Crunchyroll original production, joining the likes of Fena: Pirate Princess, Blade Runner: Black Lotus and Shenmue.

The series is set in a post-apocalyptic London, United Kingdom, after a world-ending flood and mysterious purple dome isolated the island nation.

In the ruins of the capital, a group of psychically-powered heroes known as ‘FreakAngels’ reside in Whitechapel. There, the 11 FreakAngels, all of which are 23-year-olds, have built a community of some 300 people, including watchtowers, their own food source and medical centre.

However, their peace is threatened, not only by the weather, but by refugees from around the country and from other FreakAngels lurking in the dark.

“Welcome to Whitechapel: last bastion of humanity. Six years ago, the world “ended” in a single, apocalyptic event, trapping Great Britain behind a mysterious dome of purple energy. London’s last neighborhood has persevered thanks to the protection of the “FreakAngels” — a small group of psychically-powered twenty-three-year-olds. Their fragile peace becomes threatened, however, when an exiled friend returns, exposing past conspiracies and new conflicts within their fractured, makeshift family. Can Whitechapel survive?” – Synopsis, via Crunchyroll News.

FreakAngels season 1 episode count revealed

FreakAngels season 1 will consist of nine individual episodes, as confirmed by Crunchyroll.

However, the upcoming anime series will premiere with a rather unique format; releasing all nine episodes on launch day!

This will be one of the first Crunchyroll anime series to utilise the ‘Netflix-style’ release format and will therefore, not be airing episodes weekly as a simulcast title.

Fans can look forward to binging the entire first season this week, but what date and time will the anime premiere worldwide?

FreakAngels: Release date and time explained

FreakAngels is scheduled to premiere worldwide through the Crunchyroll streaming platform on either January, 27 or January, 28 depending on your international location.

All nine episodes of the new anime series will premiere at 9 AM Pacific Time on January, 27 as confirmed by Crunchyroll, and at the following international times for premium users:

  • Pacific Time: 9 AM PST on Jan 27
  • Eastern Time: 12 PM EST on Jan 27
  • British Time: 5 PM GMT on Jan 27
  • European Time: 6 PM CET on Jan 27
  • India Time: 10:30 PM IST on Jan 27
  • Philippine Time: 1 AM PHT on Jan 28
  • Japan Time: 2 AM JST on Jan 28
  • Australia Time: 3:30 AM ACDT on Jan 28

Crunchyroll currently offers a 14-day free trial for their premium service, which is priced at £7.99 a month.

This article will be updated if there is an official alteration to the scheduled release date or time of FreakAngels on Crunchyroll.

Voice cast revealed…

In addition to confirming the episode count and release time, Crunchyroll also shared the full cast list for voice actors featuring in FreakAngels.

  • KK voiced by Marsha Thomason (Greta of Danesti from Castlevania)
  • Arkady voiced by Julie Nathanson (Farrah Brown from Great Pretender)
  • Jack voiced by  Tru Valentino (Cuphead from The Cuphead Show)
  • Sirkka voiced by Nazneen Contractor (Synara San from Star Wars Resistance).
  • Connor voiced by Christian Lees (Glen Matlock from PISTOL).
  • Mark voiced by  Daniel Gillies (Elijah Mikaelson from The Vampire Diaries)
  • Luke voiced by Chris Geere (Roger Clifford from Detective Pikachu).
  • Kat voiced by Victoria Atkin (Evie Frye from Assassin’s Creed).
  • Miki voiced by Mallory Low (Lila from The Chair).
  • Caz voiced by Anniwaa Buachie (Suzy Horton from Holby City)
  • Karl voiced by Darren Jacobs (Heartman in Death Stranding).
  • Kirk voiced by Tru Valentino (Cuphead from The Cuphead Show).
  • Alice voiced by Della Saba (Swati from Ralph Breaks the Internet).

You can find a more detailed breakdown of the characters here.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

Anime
Tom Llewellyn

Tom covers everything from anime and manga to Korean dramas and gaming. Tom boasts an undergraduate degree in both Animal Behaviour from Aberystwyth University and a postgraduate degree Science Communications from UWE Bristol and has over 5 years’ experience in writing about the weird and wonderful world of global entertainment.

Read more of Tom's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know