Guitar Hero Live Brings Marilyn Manson, Nickelback, and Weezer; Rival Challenge Mode Returning Soon

on January 13, 2016 6:41 PM

Despite the internet’s fanatic hatred of all things Nickelback, expect to see the infamous band on the latest roster of Guitar Hero Live’s upcoming songs. Also included are a wealth of metal, alternative, and indie rock bands.

For those out of the loop, Premium Sets, which allow you to play select tracks before they are released to the general public a week later, are unlocked through either micro-transaction or completing select songs with qualifying scores. This is what players got this week:

Rock Til’ You Drop

  • Bring Me the Horizon — “Drown”
  • Marilyn Manson — “Deep Six”
  • Bulls in the Bronx — “Pierce the Veil”

AAA Metal

  • Nickelback — “Get ‘Em Up”
  • Joe Satriani — “Shockwave Supernova”
  • Weezer — “Back to the Shack”

Indie-Pop Hits

  • Little Daylight — “Mona Lisa”
  • COINS — “Run”
  • The Colourist — “We Won’t Go Home”

Also, with the advent of new Premium Shows, the old Shows are thrown into the On Demand list and are available for Guitar Hero on demand. Expect to find these in the lineup from last week:

  • Biffy Clyro – “Black Chandelier”
  • The Dead Winter — “Be Still” (Live)
  • The Dead Winter — “I Feel Love (Every Million Miles) (Live)
  • Don Broco – “Priorities”
  • Kings Of Leon – “Use Somebody”
  • The Killers – “Mr. Brightside”
  • Lower Than Atlantis – “English Kids In America”
  • Mallory Knox – “When Are We Waking Up?”

Also, there has been some word (finally) on Rival Challenge Mode. According to developer FreeStyle Games’ Twitter, they are looking to bring Rivals mode back next week:

 /  Editor-in-Chief
Lou Contaldi is the Editor-in-Chief at DualShockers, specializing in both reviews and the business behind gaming. He began writing about tech and video games while getting his Juris Doctor at Hofstra University School of Law. He is maybe the only gaming journo based in Nashville, TN.