Half-Life: Alyx Unlocks Today, Requires 67 GB of Free Space

Half-Life: Alyx Unlocks Today, Requires 67 GB of Free Space

Need to know when Half-Life: Alyx unlocks and how much space you'll need on your PC? Here is everything you need to know for the game's launch.

Just a few hours left until we get back to the world of Half-Life since we last left it 13 years ago. Half-Life: Alyx officially goes live today, bringing the most realistic fight against the Combine thanks to virtual reality headsets.

Beginning at 1 PM EST/5 PM UK/10 AM PT, you can begin playing Half-Life: Alyx. You can pre-load the game right now if you have it pre-ordered. The game requires 67 GB of free space on your device, but the download size is 48 GB.

Set before the events of Half-Life 2, you will play as Alyx Vance in an invaded world. An alien race, known as the Combine, has taken over and you are tasked to end their rule over humanity.

Gameplay-wise, there’s a lot of new features in Half-Life: Alyx compared to its predecessors. For instance, in the case of movement, Valve has created three different ways for players to traverse from one point to another. Thanks to VR controls, you will be able to perform all your unique and creative plans within the game. Additionally, players will be able to use Steam Workshop and Source 2 tools at launch, allowing users to build new levels and many creative mods in a VR world.

While Valve Index officially released back in June last year, the sales of the VR headset boosted dramatically after the announcement of Half-Life: Alyx in November 2019. Having said that, part of the community doesn’t like that the new Half-Life game is going to be VR-only.

Half-Life: Alyx will be available today on Valve Index, HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, and Windows Mixed Reality. If you haven’t pre-ordered it yet, the game is hit by a 10% discount for a limited time. Check back soon for our own coverage of Valve’s highly-anticipated VR experience.