Harmonix Reveals 20 More Songs for Rock Band VR; Details Story Campaign

The upcoming virtual reality rendition of Rock Band VR expands its setlist with 20 more songs and new details about its story campaign.

Combined with its eclectic and varied mix of music, Rock Band VR aims to make its rhythm gaming even more immersive thanks to the power of virtual reality, with several more songs from the game’s tracklist officially revealed.

Developer Harmonix revealed 20 new songs coming to Rock Band VR, with the newly-revealed songs showcasing a nice variety of titles for players to enjoy in VR – the full list of new songs is below, while players of the VR experience can expect 60 songs in total for the game’s release:

  • Blondie – “One Way Or Another”
  • Carrie Underwood – “Church Bells”
  • Catfish And The Bottlemen – “Postpone”
  • Coldplay – “Birds”
  • David Bowie – “Suffragette City”
  • Europe – “The Final Countdown”
  • Green Day – “Holiday”
  • Jimmy Eat World – “The Middle”
  • Maroon 5 – “Maps”
  • Mumford & Sons – “I Will Wait”
  • Nirvana – “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
  • Parks – “Sweater Weather”
  • Pearl Jam – “Alive”
  • The Pretty Reckless – “Heaven Knows”
  • The Starting Line – “Quitter”
  • Stone Temple Pilots – “Plush”
  • Switchfoot – “Float”
  • The Temper Trap – “Alive”
  • Twin Atlantic – “I Am Alive”
  • The Wind And The Wave – “Grand Canyon”

In addition to the new songs revealed for Rock Band VR, Harmonix also announced that select songs from the VR experience will also make their way over to Rock Band 4 as purchasable DLC, though more details on what songs and when will be revealed in the near future.

Aside from the songs revealed, Harmonix also provided more details on the story campaign featured in Rock Band VR, which will take players through a storyline following a band seeking to make it big out on the road in a scripted narrative, a first for the series. More details on the campaign were shared by Harmonix producer and writer, Katie Naka:

“Bringing the characters of Rock Band VR to life via a scripted narrative was a fun and exciting challenge for us, and a first for the Rock Band franchise. Since our goal with VR gameplay was to provide the player with as authentic an experience as possible, we wanted to do the same with our narrative. I can tell you that our first draft of the story probably contained enough material for a full length animated film.”

“From that huge grouping of ideas, we pulled what we considered ‘the greatest hits’ and made the scenes that we knew we could pull off really well in VR. Our process from start to finish involved many written drafts, many visits to the motion capture studio, and a lot of travel to L.A. to cast and record our voice over with awesome and talented voice actors. The final result shows your bandmates (Derek, Maddy, and Wes) as unique characters with relationships to each other and you that are revealed over the course of your band Autoblaster’s journey from playing dirty local bars to decadent theater.”

Rock Band VR will release on PC for Oculus Rift on March 23rd, 2017.


Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Ryan Meitzler

Ryan is the Editor-in-Chief at DualShockers and has been a lover of games as long as he can remember. He holds a BA in English and Cinema and lives in New York City.

Video Trailers

Call of the Sea - Launch Trailer | PS5
Tour de France 2021 - My Tour Trailer

Got a tip?

Let us know