Insurgency: Sandstorm’s PC Open Beta Starts Today and Is Free-To-Play Until Monday

Insurgency: Sandstorm’s PC Open Beta Starts Today and Is Free-To-Play Until Monday

Insurgency: Sandstorm open beta starting today, so lock n' load.

New World Interactive’s Insurgency: Sandstorm is running an open beta phase this weekend starting from today and will be free for those who want to jump in and try it out.

It feels like a long time ago that I saw Insurgency: Sandstorm’s alpha gameplay, but really, we saw that in March of this year. The original Insurgency by the same developers had sold over 3.6 million copies when we saw that alpha gameplay, We’ve also learned that the post-launch content will be free and the will not have any loot boxes.

Starting today, you’ll be able to jump into the world of Insurgency: Sandstorm and try out the open beta for free. It officially begins at 8am PST / 4pm GMT and ends on December 10 at 9am PST / 5pm GMT. It’s also only available to play on PC.

Players will take to a fictional Middle-Eastern conflict throughout various modes. PvP matches, competitive matches, or PvE cooperative matches. Players will also be able to choose their soldiers appearance, weapon attachments, armor, and equipment, kitting themselves out however they want. Airstrikes can be called in, vehicles are available, and specialist weaponry such as grenades, drones, and explosives can be used.

The game isn’t your standard guns blazing shooter and will require tactical approaches in order to survive. Ammo is also in short supply and players will be able to work together with their team to head to victory.

Insurgency: Sandstorm can be pre-ordered, offering a 10% discount and an in-game tattoo that you can show off. Those who own the original Insurgency will get an additional 10% off, with the discount being available until the end of March 2019.

Insurgency: Sandstorm is set to launch on December 12, 2018 for PC. It will be arriving on consoles in 2019.