Game Updates

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Server Maintenance Update Schedule Today (January 25)

Okay but...Mario Kart 9 when??

January 25, 2022

The Mario Kart 8 Deluxe servers will be taken offline later today for some “expected and standard” server maintenance, according to Nintendo.

Fans have been left rather puzzled by the planned maintenance, as Mario Kart 8 Deluxe is now almost 8 years old with no new content being added since 2018. Plus, recent rumours have suggested that Mario Kart 9 is in development, so what exactly today’s maintenance is for remains a bit of a mystery.

Nevertheless, if you planned on playing some Mario Kart 8 Deluxe tonight, you may have some issues if you want to play online. Here’s the full Mario Kart 8 Deluxe server maintenance schedule for January 25th.

  • READ MORE: PS5 Backwards Compatibility Speculation Continues As PS3 Trophies Appear

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Server Maintenance Schedule (January 25)

According to the official Nintendo of America Twitter account, the Mario Kart 8 Deluxe servers will be taken offline for a few hours later today, Tuesday, January 25h, 2022.

Online play features will be unavailable beginning at 4:30PM PT / 7:30PM ET / 12:30AM GMT (January 26th), and will be offline for four and a half hours. Maintenance is expected to conclude at 9PM PT / 12AM ET / 5AM GMT.

  • READ MORE: Mario Kart 9 Possibly in Active Development, Mobile Game Also In Works

Is There A New Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Update?

Unfortunately, it hasn’t been made clear as to what exactly the January 25th Mario Kart 8 Deluxe server maintenance is actually for. Players may be prompted to download a new update after the maintenance has been completed, but that has not been confirmed by Nintendo just yet.

It’s highly likely that today’s maintenance is merely for some routine stability improvements across the servers, especially considering the game hasn’t received any new content since 2018.

However, should any further details emerge once the maintenance has been completed, we will be sure to update this article.

Game Updates
Kyle Knight
@KJKnight_

Kyle (He/Him) is a Film and TV graduate from Coventry. He's a PC enthusiast with a not so enthusiastic PC and is all about triple-A titles!

Read more of Kyle's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know