Hawkeye is the First New Hero Coming to Marvel's Avengers After Launch

Clint Barton, otherwise known as Hawkeye, is officially coming to Marvel's Avengers and will be the first of four post-launch Heroes joining the game.

July 29, 2020

Fans have been begging for it since Marvel’s Avengers was first fully unveiled last year, and now, Crystal Dynamics has confirmed that it is happening.

In today’s Marvel’s Avengers War Table live stream, it was announced that the bow-wielding Hawkeye will be the first additional Hero to come to the game. Hawkeye was unveiled in the stream via a brief trailer which showed the character taking down a variety of enemies with his bow. Sadly, there was no gameplay of Clint Barton to be shown at this time and the trailer itself was only of the CGI variety.

You can find Hawkeye’s reveal in the video below around three-quarters of the way into the presentation:


Crystal Dynamics said that it has modeled its iteration of Hawkeye after the character’s iconic comic book series that was written by Matt Fraction. Additionally, while Hawkeye will be able to do battle with the rest of the Avengers, he’ll also have his own separate story missions that can either be played alone or in co-op. He also looks to be the first of four post-launch characters that will be arriving in Marvel’s Avengers as well.

As for the rest of this War Table stream, Crystal Dynamics talked about the beta for Marvel’s Avengers and what players will be able to experience within it. The beta is set to go live next month and will let players try out four different Heroes along with the chance to earn unlockables that will then be acquired in the full game.

Marvel’s Avengers is set to launch in a little over a month on September 4 for PS4, Xbox One, PC, and Stadia. PS5 and Xbox Series X iterations of the title will also be coming down the road, too.

Logan Moore

Logan Moore is the Managing Editor around these parts and enjoys the video game Super Mario Odyssey.

Read more of Logan's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know