Monster Hunter World PS4 Beta Now Open for Everyone; No PlayStation Plus Required

If you have missed the first beta of Monster Hunter World, now it's the time to pick up your palico and your favorite weapon and do some hunting.

on December 22, 2017 12:07 PM

If you’re eager to get your hands on the beta of Monster Hunter World, but you have not had the chance to try the first one exclusive to PlayStation Plus subscriber, now it’s the time.

Capcom has just opened the floodgates of the beta to everyone on P4, including those who don’t have PlayStation Plus, regardless of the fact that the trial is online only.

You have a few days to enjoy the beta, as this session will end on December 26th at 9 AM PST ( which translates to Noon EST, 5 PM GMT and 6 PM CET).

The build is the same used for the first beta, so if you played it, there is no new download required. This also means that the content has not changed.

Three different quests are available, one for beginners against a Great Jagras in the Ancient Forest, one intermediate against a Barroth in the Wildspire Waste, and an expert-level one against an Anjanath back in the Ancient Forest All three can be played either solo or in four player co-op, but you still need to be online even if you’re flying without wingmen.

On top of that, you’ll have access to the new training area that will let you test every weapon against a variety of targets.

If you want to learn more about  Monster Hunter World, you can also check out a recent batch of screenshots showing the folks at the Survey Resource Management Officefootage showing a hunt for Nergigantea series of mini-trailers, a trailer from a few days ago, more screenshots showing more of the game’s most relevant NPCs, and our comparison between the three graphics modes on PS4 Pro.

Incidentally, we also recently learned that the game’s dedicated PS4 Pro console sold 33,000 units in Japan on its debut week.

Monster Hunter World will release worldwide on January 26th, for PS4 and Xbox One, with a PC version coming at a later date.

 /  Executive News Editor
Hailing from sunny (not as much as people think) Italy and long standing gamer since the age of Mattel Intellivision and Sinclair ZX Spectrum. Definitely a multi-platform gamer, he still holds the old dear PC nearest to his heart, while not disregarding any console on the market. RPGs (of any nationality) and MMORPGs are his daily bread, but he enjoys almost every other genre, prominently racing simulators, action and sandbox games. He is also one of the few surviving fans of the flight simulator genre on Earth.