Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath Adds New Story, Fighters, and Friendships

Fujin, Sheeva, and RoboCop (yes, the one from the action movie) join the fight in the upcoming Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath expansion.

May 6, 2020

Today, NetherRealm Studios and WB Interactive Entertainment revealed Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath, an expansion to the popular fighting game.

As you can see from the trailer below, Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath will include a plethora of new content. Fujin, Sheeva, and RoboCop (voiced by actor Peter Weller) will be added as playable fighters. It will also feature a brand new story that expands the base game’s tale. You will need to purchase the expansion to access this content.

All Mortal Kombat 11 owners will have access to a few new features being added alongside the upcoming expansion. This includes new Stages (Dead Pool and Soul Chamber), Stage Fatalities, and Friendships (which you can see at the end of the video below). These features will be applied as a free update and will not require you to purchase the expansion.


“Our fans have really enjoyed the story campaign in Mortal Kombat, and we’re happy to continue the narrative and add new characters to the roster with Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath,” said Ed Boon, Creative Director at NetherRealm Studios. “In addition, Friendships and Stage Fatalities are being added as part of the free content update for all Mortal Kombat 11 players. Both are fan-favorite features that we’re excited to finally bring back to the franchise.”

There are several ways to experience the Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath expansion. New players can purchase the Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath Kollection; this includes the base game, everything from the expansion, the previously released Kombat Pack (includes Joker, Terminator, Sindel, Nightwolf, Shang Tsung, and Spawn), and 25 additional character skins. You can pre-order this package for $59.99 on digital storefronts, which will give you instant access to Mortal Kombat 11 and the Kombat Pack. A physical version will be available in June, but only in the Americas.

If you already own Mortal Kombat 11, you can purchase the expansion alone for $39.99. If you own the base game but don’t yet own the Kombat Pack, you can grab the Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath + Kombat Pack Bundle for $49.99.

If you pre-order any of the following packages, you will receive the Eternal Klash Skin Pack at launch. This includes “Unbound Rage” Scorpion inspired by Mortal Kombat (2011), “Son of Arctika” Sub-Zero inspired by Mortal Kombat: Deception, and “Kori Power” Frost, a classic Lin Kuei look.

Personally, I am super stoked for the Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath expansion. The story looks to be a great extension from the ridiculous tale of the base game. The new character additions, RoboCop in particular, are awesome. Everything about this makes me want to come back to one of my favorite fighting games of the generation.

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath will be available on May 26 for Xbox One, PS4, Switch, PC, and Stadia. Below, you can find a whole bunch of screenshots from the upcoming expansion.

Michael Ruiz

Michael Ruiz is a Senior Staff Writer at DualShockers. He likes video games. He likes wrestling. He likes beer. He likes music.

Read more of Michael's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know