Namco Museum Brings Tons of Arcade Nostalgia to Nintendo Switch Tomorrow

Namco Museum Brings Tons of Arcade Nostalgia to Nintendo Switch Tomorrow

Namco Museum Brings 10 arcade classics and Pac Man Vs. to Nintendo Switch tomorrow, adding leaderboards and challenge modes to these old games while also letting people play on the system vertically to emulate an arcade-feeling.

Bandai Namco’s retro game collection Namco Museum hits the Nintendo Switch tomorrow, so an exciting launch trailer featuring gameplay from many of the titles included was released. For those who don’t know, Namco Museum contains the following eleven games:

  • Pac-Man
  • Dig Dug
  • Galaga
  • Galaga ‘88
  • The Tower of Druaga
  • Rolling Thunder
  • Rolling Thunder 2
  • SkyKid
  • Splatterhouse
  • Tank Force
  • Pac-Man Vs.

The first ten titles are arcade classics, while Pac-Man Vs. is a multiplayer GameCube game that was designed under the supervision of Shigeru Miyamoto. In that game, three players take control of the ghosts and have to work together to hunt down a fourth player, who is controlling Pac-Man and clearing the maze of Pac Dots. Two Switch units are required to play the game, as the ghosts and Pac-Man are on separate screens. Bandai Namco will also release a downloadable app on the Switch tomorrow that will allow players to join a multiplayer session of Pac-Man Vs.

All of the retro arcade games will feature online leaderboards, so players from around the world can compare their scores in each title. Namco Museum is also one of the first Nintendo Switch games to let players hold the system vertically in handheld mode and play that way to emulate the feeling of playing on an arcade cabinet. Each title also has a challenge mode that helps freshen up these classic titles.

You can check out the launch trailer below. Namco Museum will be available exclusively for the Nintendo Switch on July 28.