Naughty Dog Reportedly “Very, Very Impressed” With Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy

Vicarious Visions has received overwhelmingly positive feedback on Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy from series creators Naughty Dog.

May 30, 2017

Last year, Sony Interactive Entertainment at its presser during E3 2016, announced Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy, a full remaster from the ground up of Crash Bandicoot, Crash Bandicoot 2: Cortex, and Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped for the PS4.

As an entire series, Crash Bandicoot consists of eighteen games and has shipped over 50 million copies worldwide. However, the core series, consists of the above mentioned three games, developed by legendary developer Naughty Dog, the studio who — as you may know — has gone on to create Jak and Daxter, Uncharted, and The Last of Us.

That being said, speaking with Metro GameCentral, producer at Vicarious Visions — the developer handling the remaster — Kara Massie, revealed that the team received positive feedback from Crash Bandicoot’s parents Naughty Dog about Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy. Massie specifically said the following:


“Personally, our dev team didn’t check in with them or anything. But through Sony, Naughty Dog has seen and played the games at a few different stages. And we’ve had feedback from them, and overwhelming it’s been positive. They’re very, very impressed, and quite touched, that we’re doing right by their original games.”

Personally, everything I’ve seen so far of Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy looks great, thus it’s no surprise Naughty Dog is delighted how its former series is being handled

Described as a remaster plus by Vicarious Visions, Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy contains gameplay rebuilt from scratch, as well as the developers’ own layering of lush and zany art, animation, and audio. The remaster also contains rebuilt characters, cinematics, and a slab of new features, including: a unified checkpointing & save game system (this includes manual and auto-saving), a unified menu system, and time trials in all three games.

Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is set to release for PS4 on June 30, 2017 for $39.99 USD. If you want — you can check out the game’s preorder bonus here as well as view recently released footage showcasing Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped in its new remaster form for the first time ever.

Tyler Fischer

Tyler Fischer is the Assignments Editor and News Editor at DualShockers. He specializes in writing breaking news, managing assignments, and organization. Born and raised in New York, Tyler studies journalism and public relations at SUNY New Paltz. In his free time he enjoys playing and watching soccer, getting lost in game lore, and writing comedy scripts.

Read more of Tyler's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know