Nintendo Switch Online Service’s Release Dates Announced; More Info Coming Tomorrow

Nintendo has finally announced the release dates for the Switch Online service, which will start in just a week for North America and Europe.

on September 12, 2018 10:23 AM

Nintendo announced the release dates of the Nintendo Switch Online service.

It will launch on September 18th in North America and September 19th in Europe. A seven-day free trial is also available, and you can find more info here if you’re in North America, and here if you’re in Europe.

The service will cost $3.99/€3.99 for one month, $7.99/€7.99 for three months, and $19.99/€19.99 for a full year. A family plan serving up to eight Nintendo accounts will be priced at $34.99/€34.99 for twelve months.

It promises several features including online gameplay, NES classics, cloud saves for select games, a dedicated smartphone app, and exclusive offers for members.

If you’re curious about the service, Nintendo hinted that more information about what it entails will be shared during its next Nintendo Direct, which happens to be tomorrow at 3:00 PM PDT, translating into 6:00 PM EDT, 11:00 PM BST, and midnight if you’re in Central Europe.

It’s quite likely that we’ll hear about games designed for online gameplay or features of existing games designed to be enjoyed with your friends.

 /  Executive News Editor
Hailing from sunny (not as much as people think) Italy and long standing gamer since the age of Mattel Intellivision and Sinclair ZX Spectrum. Definitely a multi-platform gamer, he still holds the old dear PC nearest to his heart, while not disregarding any console on the market. RPGs (of any nationality) and MMORPGs are his daily bread, but he enjoys almost every other genre, prominently racing simulators, action and sandbox games. He is also one of the few surviving fans of the flight simulator genre on Earth.