OverClocked ReMix Releases Legacy: Game Boy 25th Anniversary in Honor of Game Boy's 25th Anniversary

By Dana Abercrombie

July 31, 2014

Let’s go back to July 31, 1989 when a new console was making all the waves in North America. It would go on to become a stable in the gaming world; for on this day the Game Boy was released.

To celebrate Game Boy turning the big 2-5, OverClocked ReMix released Legacy: Game Boy 25th Anniversary, which  features 15 tracks arranged by 16 artists that re-envision original compositions from several composers in a variety of styles.

Legacy is free to download and will have the following tracks:

01. Super Mario Land – Super Chai Tea Latte

  • Arranged by: Brandon Strader
  • Source: Chinese Style Stage BGM

02. Batman – Kaikuluotain

  • Arranged by: Eino Keskitalo, Tuberz McGee
  • Source: Title Scene

Why Ratchet & Clank is the Most Important PS5 Game

03. Donkey Kong – Taken

  • Arranged by: Chernabogue
  • Source: DK Has Run Away!!, Stage 9-8, VS DK Start

04. Castlevania II: Belmont’s Revenge – Whip This Beat

  • Arranged by: Helicopter Knife Fight
  • Source: Praying Hands (Cloud Castle BGM)

05. Final Fantasy Legend II – Gift of the MAGI

  • Arranged by: Argle
  • Source: The Legend Begins

06. Asterix – Welcome to Switzerland

  • Arranged by: Bluelighter
  • Source: Title, Helvetia, Secret Place

07. Yu-Gi-Oh! Dark Duel Stories – Duel in the Desert!

  • Arranged by: timaeus222
  • Source: Shadi Duel, Level 1 Duel

08. Mega Man II – Miljoonamiehen Muistelmat

  • Arranged by: Eino Keskitalo
  • Source: Title

09. Dragon Ball Z: Legendary Super Warriors – Super Sand Legend

  • Arranged by: Brandon Strader
  • Source: History of the Dragon Balls, Friend Beat, Game Over

10. The Smurfs’ Nightmare – Dreamboy

  • Arranged by: TheGuitahHeroe, urdailywater

11. SolarStriker – Alien Territory

  • Arranged by: Malcos
  • Source: Stage 4: Death Valley

12. Donkey Kong Land – Banaqua

  • Arranged by: Rexy
  • Source: Kremlantis Submerged

13. Pokemon Red Version – Technomagmar

  • Arranged by: DusK
  • Source: Battle (VS Trainer), Battle (VS Gym Leader), ~Opening~

14. The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening – Face Your Nightmares

  • Arranged by: Hylian Lemon
  • Source: Face Shrine, Ballad of the Wind Fish, Shadow Battles

15. Tetris – Crimea River

  • Arranged by: Sir_NutS
  • Source: A-Type

For further information on the project and to hear some of the music, check out the trailer below.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

Gaming Trailers

World War Z: Aftermath | Launch Trailer
Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege | Showdown Returns Event Trailer
Dana Abercrombie

Former genius and a woman of mystery and power, whose power is exceeded only by her mystery, Dana Abercrombie has been playing video games since birth (yes birth...we did say "genius"). Despite her secret desire of wanting to give it all up to become a gorgeous billionaire, Dana is most passionate about video games and films often times getting in many heated debates resulting in being thrown out of many gatherings. Despite having a degree in English AND Journalism (multi-tasking FTW!) from the University at Albany-SUNY, she is currently interested in perusing a degree at Yale Law School, because one should never give up on a dream of becoming a gorgeous billionaire...and knowing how to sue someone as a result of those heated debates

Read more of Dana's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know