Overwatch Gets Free Weekend from November 18-21 on All Platforms

on November 10, 2016 1:39 PM

In the months since its release in May earlier this year, Blizzard Entertainment’s Overwatch has been a hit with a sizable playerbase, with the company putting out the call for more Heroes with an upcoming free weekend for new players.

Blizzard has announced that free play weekend for Overwatch will take place on November 18th-21st, with the game to be playable completely free on PS4, Xbox One, and PC during the weekend run. Players will only need a PlayStation Plus membership or an Xbox Live Gold account for Xbox One owners to access the free weekend.

The free weekend will allow players to try out all 22 heroes and 13 maps, with access to Quick Play, Custom Games, and the Weekly Brawl that will be available during that timeframe. Players in the free weekend will also be able to level up, earn Loot Boxes, and unlock customization options in the free trial, and purchasing the game will allow players to carry over their progress after the free weekend is over (as long as players use the same Battle.net, Xbox Live, or PSN account they played on).

Overwatch is available now for PS4, Xbox One, and PC, with the latest Free Weekend to take place on November 18-21. Start times and access for the free game weekend by region can be found below, along with installation instructions for specific platforms:

EUROPE: THE AMERICAS: ASIA:
20:00 BST on Nov 18

20:00 CEST on Nov 18

20:00 MSK on Nov 18

11:00 a.m. PST on Nov 18

12:00 p.m. MST on Nov 18

1:00 p.m. CST on Nov 18

2:00 p.m. EST on Nov 18

3:00 p.m. AST on Nov 18

3:30 p.m. NST on Nov 18

5:00 p.m. BRST on Nov 18

3:00 a.m. SGT on Nov 19

6:00 a.m. AEDT on Nov 19

8:00 a.m. NZDT on Nov 19

3:00 a.m. CST on Nov 19

4:00 a.m. KST on Nov 19

4:00 a.m. JST on Nov 19

z85dbbybarwb1478730289192

FOR WINDOWS PC:

Step 1: Download and install the Battle.net desktop app, if you haven’t already, and launch it.
Step 2: Create a FREE Battle.net account, or log in with an existing account.
Step 3: Click the “Overwatch” icon, located on the left-hand side of the Battle.net desktop app.
Step 4: Select your region from the drop-down menu, then click “Install” to begin the installation process.
Step 5: Once installed, click “Play” to begin!

FOR PLAYSTATION 4:

Step 1: Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user.
Step 2: Go to PlayStation Store and select “Search” from the top menu.
Step 3: In the search field, type in “Overwatch.”
Step 4: Select “Overwatch Free Weekend” from the search results and then click “Download.”
Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click “Start” to begin!

FOR XBOX ONE:

Step 1: Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.
Step 2: Go to the Xbox One Store, then select “Search.”
Step 3: In the search field, type in “Overwatch.”
Step 4: Select “Overwatch: Origins Edition” from the search results and then click “Free Trial.”
Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click “Launch” to begin!

 /  Features Editor
Ryan is the Features Editor at DualShockers, with over five years' experience in the world of video games culture and writing. He holds a BA in English & Cinema from Binghamton University, and lives in New York City.