News

How to Pre-order The Panic Playdate Console - Date, Time, Price and Quantities

By Sam Woods

July 27, 2021

The Panic Playdate is a thing of pure beauty.

The small handheld console was revealed a couple of years ago and set Twitter alight with talk of its stunning retro Game Boy like graphics and its unique crank-style control mechanism.

After a handful of small COVID-related delays, the hardware will soon be available to pre-order.

So, with that in mind, here are all of the details you need to know ahead of the Playdate pre-order window, including the date and time you can do it, plus how much it will cost.

Say Hello to Playdate!!

BridTV
3760
Say Hello to Playdate!!
834321
834321
center
26546

When Can You Grab a Reservation? Playdate Pre-order Date and Time

As of right now, the Playdate pre-orders will kick off in just a couple of days on Thursday, July 29.

The console will be up for grabs from the following times around the world:

  • 10 am PT
  • 12 pm CT
  • 1 pm ET
  • 5 pm UTC
  • 6 pm UK
  • 7 pm CEST

How to Pre-order the Playdate

Those looking to pre-order the console can do so directly from play.date when the pre-order window begins.

There will be an initial allocation of 20,000 units, which Panic plans to ship by the end of this year. Following that, it will be manufacturing more units to meet the demand, which are expected to ship in 2022.

The product will ship to the following countries:

  • United States (including Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the US Virgin Islands)
  • United Kingdom
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

How Much Will it Cost?

The Playdate will cost $179 plus shipping.

On the console’s official website, Panic has offered an indication of how much shipping (plus taxes) should cost for each of the available countries.

You can check that out below:

CountryCityShipping Cost
USANew York$13.82 USD
UKLondon$17.83 USD
CanadaToronto$19.11 USD
JapanTokyo$33.03 USD
AustraliaSydney$18.43 USD
BelgiumBrussels$22.84 USD
DenmarkViborg$22.84 USD
FranceParis$21.84 USD
GermanyDusseldorf$22.84 USD
IrelandDublin$27.58 USD
ItalyRome$22.84 USD
NetherlandsAmsterdam$22.84 USD
PolandWarsaw$27.58 USD
SpainMadrid$22.84 USD
SwedenStockholm$27.58 USD
SwitzerlandZurich$44.44 USD

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

Gaming Trailers

Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 | Gogeta Trailer
Destiny 2: Beyond Light | Season of the Lost Trailer
Sam Woods
@CaptainWoodsy

Sam is the Managing Editor at DualShockers. He's been playing video games for as long as he can remember and you can regularly find him on his Nintendo Switch. When he's not playing games, he'll no doubt be suffering watching his beloved Ipswich Town.

Read more of Sam's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know