PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds New Map is Called Sanhok; Returns to Test Server This Week

The final name for PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds new 4x4km map has been revealed, and will be available on the PC test server in a few days.

on May 7, 2018 5:56 PM

Since its debut last year, developer PUBG Corps have been working diligently to add new maps to PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds, and now players will get a sneak peek at the next upcoming map later this week, which is now going by its official, final name.

Developer PUBG Corps has revealed that the upcoming 4x4km map, which was previously known as “Codename: Savage,” has had its final name revealed as “Sanhok” (pronounsed “sah-nok”). As the map was previously revealed to be inspired by Southeast Asian islands like Thailand and the Philippines, the name itself is derived from the Thai word for “fun” (สนุก, or in English “sah-nook”) and the Filipino/Tagalog word for “chicken,” “manok” (pronouned “mah-nok”).

Aside from the name reveal, PUBG Corps also announced that the Sanhok map will be available on the PC version’s test server later this week, and all players will be able to hop into the map when it is available. The schedule for its testing period can be found below:

TESTING BEGINS:
THURS May 10, 7pm PDT / FRI May 11, 4am CEST / May 11, 11am KST

TESTING ENDS:
MON May 14, 4am PDT / May 14, 1pm CEST / May 14, 8pm KST

Overall, PUBG Corps said that the map’s full reelase is “only a couple of months away,” so this should at least give some time for PUBG players to check out Sanhok and cure their itch for a new map sometime soon.

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds is available now on Xbox One, PC, iOS, and Android. You can also get a new look at the upcoming map for PUBG in the screenshot below.

 /  Features Editor
Ryan is the Features Editor at DualShockers, with over five years' experience in the world of video games culture and writing. He holds a BA in English & Cinema from Binghamton University, and lives in New York City.