PlayStation Network to Go Down for Short Maintenance Soon

PlayStation Network will be going offline later today and later tomorrow from 8:30 p.m. EDT (5:30 p.m. PDT) to 3:30 a.m. EDT (12:30 a.m. PDT) the next day.

on March 5, 2018 9:12 AM

In what feels like almost commonplace at this point, Sony has officially revealed that its PlayStation Network will go down for maintenance¬†today and tomorrow. However, in a bit of a surprise, it’ll be conducted a little earlier than it has in the past.

For both days, March 5, 2018, and March 6, 2018, the PlayStation Network will be going offline from 5:30 p.m. PDT (8:30 p.m. EDT) to 12:30 a.m. (3:30 a.m. EDT) the next day. Normally Sony conducts their scheduled maintenance sometime after 1:00 a.m. when most people in America are asleep.

The good news is that, like most maintenance times the past few years, players will still be able to play online, access the PlayStation Store, and take advantage of most of the PSN’s features. The two features which will be inaccessible, however, will be the ability to access leaderboards and upload any scores to those leaderboards, so if you want your stats to count, make sure you don’t play at that time.

Of course, like all other scheduled maintenance, problems can occur, which means these times are most certainly tentative.

The PlayStation Network also went down for scheduled maintenance in April of 2017, however, during that outage, more important features were inaccessible, including the PlayStation Store and the entirety of Account Managment.

 / 
Tanner Pierce is a Staff Writer at DualShockers.com. When he isn't writing, he is pursuing a major in Journalism at the University of Central Florida.