We're Building a Community - Find out how to take part and sign up here.

Game Updates

PUBG Free to Play Release Date and Time

A new competitor for Fortnite, Warzone, and Apex!

January 11, 2022

It is finally happening! PUBG goes free-to-play soon enough across all platforms with the release time set for after the current maintenance is done!

As revealed in December 2021 during The Game Awards event, PlayerUnknown’s Battleground will finally become available as a free-to-play experience on PC and consoles as it is right now on smartphones.

  • CHECK THIS OUT: An Imposter Tops Most Downloaded PS4/PS5 Games of December 2021

PUBG was the very first Battle Royale in the world that reached a huge popularity, before Fortnite‘s launch. Despite losing a significant part of its player-base to games like Fortnite, Call of Duty Warzone, and Apex Legends, PUBG still has a lot of active players and is always among the top 10 in Steam’s concurrent players chart.

PUBG: NEW STATE | Official Launch Trailer

BridTV
6533
PUBG: NEW STATE | Official Launch Trailer
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/JH8NjnNeRyU/hqdefault.jpg
898246
898246
center
26546

PUBG Free to Play Release Date and Time

PUBG will be officially available for free across PC and consoles once the current maintenance is over on January 12 at 12 am PT/3 am ET/8 am UTC/9 am CET.

Keep in mind that you can already spot PUBG is available for free on Steam and console stores, but the game is not playable at the moment. You will need wait until the aforementioned time and then download update 15.2 to be able to start playing the game.

If you already own PUBG, or you have pre-registered for the free-to-play version after The Game Awards 2021, you will receive some in-game rewards once you log into the game after the launch of the free-to-play version.

With PUBG becoming a free experience, regular players should expect a big number of newcomers on January 12, which might even cause some server issues in the backend.

PUBG: Battlegrounds is now available on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, and PC.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
or Comment Below
LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Game Updates

Gaming Trailers

More Like This
PUBG | Free-to-Play Gameplay trailer
Latest Trailers
Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege | Rick & Morty Bundle Trailer for Ace & Thermite
Mehrdad Khayyat

Mehrdad (He/Him) is a Senior Staff Writer at DualShockers. He started writing about video games when he was a high-school student. He's probably one of those rare Rainbow Six Siege fans that have the game installed and updated on every available platform.

Read more of Mehrdad's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know