Rainbow Six Siege Operation Steel Wave Is Now Live

As of now, Ace and Melusi are available as the new operators in Rainbow Six Siege as part of the new features included in Operation Steel Wave.

After spending a few weeks in test servers, Rainbow Six Siege Operation Steel Wave officially launched a few hours ago across all platforms. By downloading a moderately small update, you will get access to Ace, Melusi, the reworked House map, and all the other fixes and improvements included in the new season.

Nearly three months after launching Operation Void Edge, Ubisoft officially revealed Operation Steel Wave for Rainbow Six Siege as the Year 5 Season 2 update. While continuing reworking the old maps of the game, the new operation adds two new operators as well: Melusi as a defender and Ace as an attacker.

Unlike last season’s Oryx, which most of the Rainbow Six community doesn’t find as a useful operator, Melusi has the potential to get herself into your top choices among all the available defenders, thanks to her alarming device which benefits the whole team. Melusi’s special gadget acts like an improved barbed wire. After you place it on a surface, whenever an attacker enters its supported area, the gadget will be ticking, making the enemies shake while moving and lowering their speed.

On the other hand, Ace is a worthy addition to the Attackers’ roster as he becomes the fourth operator in the game after Thermite, Hibana, and Maverick, who can breach the reinforced walls. Ace’s three-step breachers can stick onto any surface and destroy any obstacle on your way, though the electrified reinforcements are still exceptions.

Aside from the new operators, the reworked version of House is the next best thing in Operation Steel Wave. Thanks to some wise modifications, House is now a safer place for defenders with fewer windows and entry points for the attacking team.

Among the other changes occurred by the new update, the addition of Proximity Alarm as a secondary gadget to 8 operators, including Caveira, Goyo, Oryx, Mira, Tachanka, Wamai, Castle, and Rook, is probably the most notable one.

Rainbow Six Siege is now available on PS4, Xbox One, and PC. The game will be launched on PS5 and Xbox Series X as soon as they get released.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Mehrdad Khayyat

Mehrdad is a Senior Staff Writer at DualShockers. He started writing about video games since he was a high-school student. He's probably one of those rare Rainbow Six Siege fans that have the game installed and updated on any available platform.

Video Trailers

Returnal - Gameplay Trailer
Tales of Arise - Environment Trailer

Got a tip?

Let us know