Rest in Peace, Silent Hills; P.T. is Now Completely Removed from PlayStation Store, Even if You Previously Downloaded It
Last week brought the unfortunate news that the highly-anticipated Silent Hills, a revival of the iconic horror franchise bringing together Hideo Kojima and Guillermo del Toro, was officially cancelled by Konami following a series of back-and-forth in Kojima reportedly leaving Konami. While the game’s “playable teaser,” P.T., was announced for expiration last week on PSN, unfortunately the title seems to now be gone for good, even if you previously downloaded it.
Reports have come in that within today/yesterday, it appears that P.T. has now been completely removed from the PlayStation Store, with users unable to download the title again after deleting it from their PS4 consoles, even if the title was/has been on their Download List.
Konami previously announced that P.T.‘s license on PSN would expire on April 29th, 2015 and disable players from being able to add it to their libraries after that date – however, since then many players were still able to redownload the title if it was on their Download List, even if they deleted it.
As of this week though, it seems Konami/Sony have completely pulled the plug on P.T., as many in the US have reported being unable to redownload P.T. after deleting it even with it being on the Download List, though PS4 owners in Europe are still reporting being able to download/redownload P.T. after deletion.
P.T. was released during Gamescom 2014 as a “playable teaser” for the Kojima/del Toro co-production Silent Hills which would feature The Walking Dead actor Norman Reedus. Following its reveal in late summer 2014, the various structural changes in Konami resulted in the cancellation of Silent Hills last week. Konami confirmed that while Kojima and del Toro’s Silent Hills is cancelled, development on future titles in the Silent Hill series will continue.
In short – hopefully you downloaded P.T. to your consoles prior to the expiration period, otherwise it seems P.T. is no longer available to redownload: if you’re lucky enough to still have it on your PS4, make sure not to delete it to witness an exceptional horror experience.