Rise of the Tomb Raider Wins Top Honors at Writers Guild of America Awards

Rise of the Tomb Raider Wins Top Honors at Writers Guild of America Awards

In an already stellar year, 2015 gave us several worlds filled with rich characters and epic stories, and in its annual awards ceremony the Writers Guild of America named Lara Croft’s latest adventure the top writing achievement for 2015.

Following the release of its nominee list last month, the Writers Guild of America named Rise of the Tomb Raider its winner for 2015’s “Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing” award.

Rise of the Tomb Raider took the top honor alongside this year’s other nominees including Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, Pillars of EternityThe Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, with the final winner being chosen by the voting members of the WGA.

The nominees list from this year’s Writers Guild of America for its Videogame Writing award are below, and the full list of winners and nominees from the entire ceremony can be viewed here:



Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, Story by Marc-Alexis Cote, Hugo Giard, Corey May, Jeffrey Yohalem; Narrative Director Corey May; Lead Writer Jeffrey Yohalem; Assistant Narrative Director Melissa MacCoubrey; Scriptwriters Richard Farrese, Russell Lees, Mark Llabres Hill, James Nadiger, Jared Schincariol, Travis Stout, Ceri Young; Additional Writing Judith Flanders, C.J. Kershner, Gabrielle Shrager, Danny Wallace; Additional Senior Writer Paul Monk; Ubisoft

Pillars of Eternity, Lead Writer Eric Fenstermaker; Writers Carrie Patel, Olivia Veras; Additional Writing Chris Avellone, Jeff Husges, Matt MacLean, Jorge Salgado, Josh Sawyer, George Ziets; Obsidian Entertainment

Rise of the Tomb Raider, Lead Narrative Designer John Stafford; Narrative Designer Cameron Suey; Lead Writer Rhianna Pratchett; Additional Writer Philip Gelatt; Microsoft – WINNER

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, Lead Writer Marcin Blacha; Lead English Writer Borys Pugacz-Muraszkiewicz; Writers Arkadiusz Borowik, Aleksandra Motyka, Bartosz Ochman, Karolina Stachyra, Jakub Szamalek; Additional Writers Marcin Batylda, Michal Galek, Tomasz Marchewka, Robert Oglodzinski, Rafal Praszalek, Artur Sliwinski, Stanislaw Swiecicki, Pawel Zych; Story Marcin Blacha, Jakub Szamalek; CD Projekt RED