RockBand Review (iPhone/iPod Touch)

Everyone get those devil horns out as EA Mobile and Harmonix’s Rockband is available for download via App Store for the iPhone and iPod Touch for the price of $10. Although the price is a bit high for an app, Harmonix makes sure you get every pennies worth as they take the popular console game and recreate it to give you an experience you never thought you needed. The game comes stock with 20 tracks including Blink-182’s “All The Small Things”, Foo Fighters’ “Everlong” and The Go-Go’s “We Got the Beat, there is also a music store where you can purchase track packs or single tracks straight to the game for only $1.

The game runs smooth and stays true to its console version. You will experience a bit of lag from time to time causing you to not stay in sync with the notes. The presentation is identical but you will we tapping away on 4 notes instead of 5, with that the Expert difficulty is removed from this version only leaving Easy, Medium, and Hard but even Hard will give you much of an expert challenge. The buttons are real compressed together causing some mistake mashing from time to time. Every sound effect is exactly the same as playing on console and the quality of the songs are very clear when playing. The features are what make the game, with having quickplay single player, to a full blown world tour with 5 cities playing 4 songs on each, to even a local multiplayer via Bluetooth, you will find yourself draining your battery life on just Rockband. Now imagine you and your friends mashing away on your phones or pods to some of your favorite songs as you are able to choose from Guitar, Bass, Drums, and Vocals. If you’re thinking to yourself “I have an iPod Touch, how the fuck am i gonna play vocals”?  The vocal part of the game is just like the instruments where you have to press the correct scrolling note matching the pitch level which makes the vocals my least favorite to play. Another bad detail, there is yet an online multiplayer via WiFi so all you really have is local multiplayer.

There are some extras such as earning achievements along the way like note streaks to unlocking new venues, it also shows you stats from single player and tour mode. Overall the game is what you would expect from a Rockband game and if you are a fan of the original then you will definitely enjoy playing this portable version but don’t let the bit of lag, compressed frets, and short track list  disappoint you, its only a few minor flaws to a great game. Tap Tap Revenge better hold that crown tight as Rockband will sure be fighting for that number one spot. Rockband is now available for purchase at the itunes App store. Check out the screenshots and full track list after the jump.

Core iPhone RockBand Tracks:

  • 30 Seconds to Mars, “Attack”
  • AFI, “Girl’s Not Grey”
  • All-American Rejects, “Move Along”
  • Beastie Boys, “Sabotage”
  • Blink-182, “All the Small Things”
  • Blondie, “Hanging on the Telephone”
  • Foo Fighters, “Learn to Fly”
  • Foo Fighters, “Everlong”
  • George Thorogood & the Destroyers, “Bad to the Bone”
  • Jethro Tull, “Hymn 43″
  • Joan Jett, “Bad Reputation”
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd, “Simple Man”
  • Motörhead, “Ace of Spades ‘08″
  • Pixies, “Debaser”
  • Presidents of the United States of America, “Ladybug”
  • Rise Against, “Give It All”
  • Silversun Pickups, “Lazy Eye”
  • Smashing Pumpkins, “Cherub Rock”
  • Steve Miller Band, “Take the Money and Run”
  • The Go-Go’s, “We Got the Beat”

Game Info:

  • Title: RockBand for iPhone and iPod
  • Developer: Harmonix Music Systems
  • Publisher: Electronic Arts Studio
  • MSRP: $10
  • Release Date: October
  • Review Copy Info: This Review Copy was purchased by DualShockers Inc for Reviewing Purposes
  • This Review Copy was purchased by DualShockers Inc for Reviewing Purposes.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Roberto Bayde

Video Trailers

Dead by Daylight - All-Kill Official Trailer | PS4
Dead by Daylight | All-Kill | Official DLC Trailer - Nintendo Switch

Got a tip?

Let us know