Rocket League Gets New Update; Brings Back Neo Tokyo and Adds New Car

Rocket League is set to get a brand new update this Wednesday.

on May 8, 2017 3:37 PM

Psyonix has announced that its hit game Rocket League will be receiving an update very soon. The update, v1.34, will be available on PC, PS4, and Xbox One.

To start, the developer announced that the map Neo Tokyo will be making it’s way back into the game, however it has been slightly redesigned to remove the ramps on either sides of the goal. The map will be available to play in all playlists, including Competitive mode. In addition, Psyonix also revealed that the original, unaltered version of Neo Tokyo will be making its return to the game, this time under the name Tokyo Underpass, however this version can only be played in private matches, and offline play.

In addition to the new map, a new car called Mantis will be joining the game with this new update. The only way to obtain the Mantis is by aquiring a Nitrous-Powered Crate Drop, where it will be included as a limited-drop. New wheels, decals, rocket trails, and Black Market customization items will also be included with the crate.

The update will be coming in a few days, on Wednesday, May 10th, 2017 at 3 p.m. PDT (6 p.m. EDT, 12 a.m. CEDT on May 11th, and 9 a.m. AEST)

You can check out a gallery of Neo Tokyo, Mantis, and the new Nitro-Powered Crate below.

Rocket League was originally released on July 7th, 2015.

 / 
Tanner Pierce is a Staff Writer at DualShockers.com. When he isn't writing, he is pursuing a major in Journalism at the University of Central Florida.