Shang Tsung Joins Mortal Kombat 11 June 18, Spawn and More DLC Characters Revealed

Sindel, Nightwolf, and Spawn will be joining Shang Tsung in Mortal Kombat 11. Two more "guests" to be revealed at a later date.

After being teased yesterday, everyone’s favorite soul snatching warlock, Shang Tsung, will finally be joining the Mortal Kombat 11 cast on June 18 for Kombat Pass holders. A new trailer showcased his unique fighting style, as well as a nice little nod to the Mortal Kombat movie.

Shang Tsung seems to be a pretty good all-around fighter with a mixture of up-close combos and ranged projectiles. He also has a few moves shown that will give you some space between you and the opponent when things get heated. Probably the most noticeable facet of Shang Tsung’s repertoire of moves is his ability to turn into all the fan-favorite ninjas including Rain, Smoke, and Ermac. Similarly to previous iterations of the character, he can take the form of his opponent and their moveset for a limited time. It finishes with Shang Tsung’s fatality where he morphs into Kintaro ripping Raiden apart.

Initially revealed at C2E2 in Chicago, Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa will be bringing his likeness and voice to Shang Tsung. For the uninitiated, Tagawa is the actor who played the character in the original Mortal Kombat film. Although his initial reveal saw him with a much older and wiser look, a younger version more reminiscent of the character from the movie, complete with long jet-black hair, seems to be his look for battle.

Despite not being playable at launch, Shang Tsung has been featured in Mortal Kombat 11 through the game’s Krypt mode. In the beginning, the notorious warlock introduces you to his island in-person. He also narrates key moments during your time in the Krypt, mostly to point out some very familiar scenery.

While the trailer focused on Shang Tsung, it ended by revealing the rest of the DLC characters available in the Kombat Pass. Nightwolf, Sindel, and Todd McFarlane’s Spawn has been officially announced with two more “guests” to be revealed at a later date.

Mortal Kombat 11 is available now for PS4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PC. The Kombat Pass is also available to purchase and costs $39.99. You can also check out our review of the game to see what we think.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Michael Ruiz

Michael Ruiz is a Senior Staff Writer at DualShockers. He likes video games. He likes wrestling. He likes beer. He likes music.

Video Trailers

Season Three Battle Pass Trailer | Call of Duty®: Black Ops Cold War & Warzone™
Returnal - Announcement Trailer

Got a tip?

Let us know