Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Sephiroth Live Stream to Last 35 Minutes

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Sephiroth Live Stream to Last 35 Minutes

The presentation is due to take place later today.

For the second year in recent memory, Nintendo revealed an upcoming Super Smash Bros. Ultimate DLC character at The Game Awards. Following Persona 5’s Joker in 2018, Nintendo revealed Sephiroth, Final Fantasy VII’s main antagonist, as a character at this year’s ceremony.

Following the reveal, Nintendo shared that the one-winged angel would be getting a full presentation from Super Smash Bros. Ultimate game director Masahiro Sakurai. The presentation is due to take place later today, Thursday, December 17 at 2pm PT/5pm ET/10pm UK and will offer a deep dive into the character as well as the release date.

Usually, Sakurai is extremely thorough in these presentations and this one looks to be no different. Revealed by the Japanese Super Smash Bros. Twitter account, today’s presentation is set to last around 35 minutes.

The presentation will be akin to those we’ve seen recently for the likes of Min-Min from Arms and Steve from Minecraft. The showcases don’t usually take themselves to seriously and are fronted by Sakurai himself, showing off the character’s moves and abilities while cracking jokes in front of his adoring audience.

During these presentations, Sakurai has also taken the opportunity to show off upcoming waves of Amiibo. Within Steve’s reveal, we were treated to a look at Banjo, Byleth and Terry, who we now know are releasing early next year. It’s unlikely that we’ll be treated to any new reveals during this event, however, as the last three Amiibo revealed rounded out Fighter Pass Volume 1 and therefore, the characters from Fighter Pass Volume 2 will likely need a little longer.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is available now on the Nintendo Switch alongside Fighter Pass 1 and 2. You can watch tonight’s presentation live on Nintendo’s official YouTube Channel.