Guides

Pokemon GO Team Rocket Global Challenge - Dates, Goals and Rewards

By Sam Woods

May 17, 2021

Over the last year, the way players play Pokemon GO has been drastically impacted.

The pandemic has forced players to spend more time playing the AR hit from inside their homes, and therefore, along with the players, Niantic has had to adapt.

While there have been plenty of quality of life changes, Niantic is now experimenting with a range of different events and challenges – including multiple recent Global Challenges.

The latest of these involves a very nefarious team – here are all the details you need to know about the Pokemon GO Team GO Rocket Global Challenge, including its start and end times, the goals and rewards.

The Legendary Pokémon Xerneas and Yveltal coming soon to Pokémon GO!

BridTV
1904
The Legendary Pokémon Xerneas and Yveltal coming soon to Pokémon GO!
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/hjy54VJEAqE/hqdefault.jpg
781686
781686
center
26546

When Does the Challenge Start and End?

Unlike most Pokemon GO events, the challenge kicks at the same time globally.

The event is now live around the world, meaning it’s time to come together and tackle Team GO Rocket.

The challenge will run for just under a week, finishing on Sunday, May 23. You can see the finish times below:

  • PDT – 4:59 pm
  • CT – 6:59 pm
  • EST – 7:59 pm
  • UTC – 11:59 pm
  • BST – 12:59 am (Monday)
  • CEST – 1:59 am (Monday)
  • AEST – 9:59 am (Monday)

What is the Challenge?

Like all of the Global Challenges, this one ensures players around the world come together to complete a single common goal.

As we approach the darker Luminous Legends Y event, which is set to feature a lot of Team Go Rocket and this is what the challenge is based around.

Players have the length of the event window to collectively defeat 25 million Grunts from Team GO Rocket to complete the Global Catch Challenge.

What are the Team GO Rocket Global Challenge rewards?

There are a bunch of exciting rewards should players complete the challenge. They are as follows:

  • 3x Catch XP until May 31
  • The release of the awesome Shiny Galarian Zigzagoon family
  • Galarian Zigzagoon Raids

These rewards will unlock on May 25 at 10 am local time, finishing on May 31 at 8 pm local time.

If you’ve not seen the Shiny Galarian Zigzagoon family, you can check them out below:

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

Video Trailers

Forbidden Library Limited-time Event Trailer
Character Teaser - "Yoimiya: The Queen of Summer on Narukami Island" | Genshin Impact
Sam Woods
@CaptainWoodsy

Sam is the Managing Editor at DualShockers. He's been playing video games for as long as he can remember and you can regularly find him on his Nintendo Switch. When he's not playing games, he'll no doubt be suffering watching his beloved Ipswich Town.

Read more of Sam's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know