We're Building a Community - Find out how to take part and sign up here.


The Game Awards Reveals Its Future Class of The Games Industry for 2020

The "Future Class" of The Game Awards has been announced, recognizing 50 members of the "bright, bold and inclusive future of video games."

December 10, 2020

The Game Awards are set to make a return tonight for its sixth annual installment, and while the shown is known for its lineup of surprises and announcements, it’s also a night to celebrate the achievements of the gaming community. Notably, this year TGA is looking beyond the scope of its award ceremony to honor those trying to make a difference and form a more inclusive and diverse path for the games industry.

Ahead of tonight’s award ceremony, The Game Awards has announced its inaugural “Future Class,” a group of 50 members of the games industry that “recognizes individuals around the world who represent the bright, bold and inclusive future for video games.” Specifically, The Game Awards notes that the Future Class is “a diverse group of builders, thinkers and dreamers whose voices elevate and diversity our art form,” including game designers and developers, writers, accessibility advocates, and others across the games industry.

You can find the full list of the first “Future Class” of The Game Awards for 2020 below:

  • Adam Campbell (Director of Product – Azoomee/Da Vinci, Co-founder – POC in Play)
  • Agnes Larsson (Lead Gameplay Developer – Minecraft)
  • Aleksandra Korabelnikova (Co-founder and Narrative Designer – Eggnut)
  • Blessing Adeoye Jr (Host/Producer – Kinda Funny)
  • Brandon Cole (Games accessibility consultant)
  • Cantika (Streamer)
  • Cherry Thompson (Accessibility Project Manager – Ubisoft)
  • Britt Clifford (Senior Producer – Obsidian Entertainment)
  • Christine Gutierrez (Lead Graphic Designer – Minecraft)
  • Cristina Amaya (Founder & President – Latinx in Gaming)
  • Dean Abdou (Host/Video Producer/Writer – GAMINGbible)
  • Derrick Fields (Creator – Waking Oni Games)
  • Dianna Lora (Account Manager – Ubisoft Massive)
  • Elaine Gomez (Game Designer – E-Line Media)
  • Fernando Reyes Medina (Game Designer – 343 Industries)
  • Francisco Lopez (Founder & Host – Yo soy un gamer)
  • Halley Gross (Co-writer & Narrative Lead – Naughty Dog)
  • Hannah Nicklin (CEO & Studio Lead – Die Gute Fabrik)
  • Ian Hamilton (Games accessibility specialist)
  • Jasmine Jupiter (Narrative designer)
  • Jen Oneal (Studio Head – Vicarious Visions)
  • Jennifer Scheurle (Lead Game Designer – Blackbird Interactive)
  • Jenny Xu (CEO – Talofa Games)
  • Jeremy Kaldobsky (Game developer/accessibility advocate)
  • Jessica Murrey (CEO & Cofounder- Wicked Saints Studios
  • Jorge Garcia (Game developer)
  • Kahlief Adams (Host & Founder – Spawn on Me)
  • Kaitlyn Tremblay (Lead Narrative Designer – Capybara Games)
  • Kallie Plagge (Reviews Editor – GameSpot)
  • Kate Dollarhyde (Narrative Designer – Obsidian Entertainment)
  • Leanne Loombe (Director – Riot Forge)
  • Luis Alonso (Game developer)
  • Lukas Eggen (Founding member – LAN Parties)
  • Marcus Howard (CEO – MetArena)
  • Maxi Graeff (Marketing Communications Lead – Xbox DACH)
  • Michelle Bresaw (Vice President of Product and Marketing – Activision)
  • Michelle Ma (Technical artist & game designer)
  • Morgan Baker (Games accessibility specialist)
  • Natalie Flores (Featured Contributor – Fanbyte)
  • Randy Fitzgerald (Games accessibility advocate)
  • Royce Payne (Member – Maroon Tiger Gaming, Morehouse College)
  • Stephanie Rosales (Quality Assurance Engineer – Riot Games)
  • Steve Saylor (Games accessibility advocate & consultant)
  • Tanya DePass (Founder & Director – I Need Diverse Games)
  • Tara Mustapha (Game designer & producer)
  • Tülay Tetiker McNally (Director, Inclusive Design & Product Development – EA)
  • Vic Bassey (Sales & Business Development Manager – Raw Fury)
  • Whitney “Strix” Beltran (Project Narrative Director – Hidden Path Entertainment)
  • Xalavier Nelson Jr (Game director & narrative lead)
  • Zachary Hartzman (Founder – Hey Listen Games)

Alongside the reveal of the 50 members of the first Future Class, TGA host and producer Geoff Keighley also shared a video of a multimedia piece honoring those initiated by painter Ryan Hewett and musician Dope St. Jude. You can take a look at the video below:

The Game Awards 2020 are airing tonight starting at 4pm PT/7pm ET, with a pre-show to kick off beforehand at 3:30pm PT/6:30pm ET. If you’re looking to watch the show tonight with some familiar faces, you can also tune in to the livestream that we’ll be hosting tonight alongside members of the DualShockers staff.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

or Comment Below

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment

Gaming Trailers

More Like This
Planet of Lana - Reveal Trailer
Latest Trailers
Nobody Saves the World | Launch Trailer
Ryan Meitzler

Ryan is the Editor-in-Chief at DualShockers and has been a lover of games as long as he can remember. He holds a BA in English and Cinema and lives in New York City.

Read more of Ryan's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know