The New York Game Awards Reveals 2019 Winners; God of War Earns the Top Prize

The New York Game Awards Reveals 2019 Winners; God of War Earns the Top Prize

The annual New York Game Awards gave its top prize to God of War, while Red Dead Redemption 2 and Tetris Effect followed close behind it in award wins.

While 2018 has come and gone, there’s no doubt that last year was an incredible year for games with the likes of God of WarRed Dead Redemption 2, and more, with the New York Videogame Critics Circle having given out its honors to last year’s best crop of games.

During tonight’s ceremony, the New York Videogame Critics Circle revealed its winners at The New York Game Awards 2019. Overall, God of War took home top honors for the year with the “Big Apple Award” for Game of the Year, while other titles such as Dead Cells took home the top prize for Best Indie Game, Florence for Best Mobile Game, and Tetris Effect for Best Virtual Reality Game. Red Dead Redemption 2God of War, and Tetris Effect led a three-way tie for the most prizes of the night, with two awards each.

In addition to the prizes given for the best games of the year and for achievements in writing, design, and other crafts, the organization’s Andrew Yoon Legend Award was presented to Jade Raymond for her career in the games industry and the significant achievements she has reached, including her work on franchises such as Assassin’s CreedThe SimsWatch Dogs, and more.

The full list of winners from The New York Video Game Awards 2019 can be found below:

Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year: God of War

Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game: Nintendo Labo Variety Pack

A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game: Florence

Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best Virtual Reality Game: Tetris Effect

Off Broadway Award for Best Indie Game: Dead Cells

Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game: Tetris Effect

Statue of Liberty Award for Best World: Red Dead Redemption 2

Herman Melville Award for Best Writing: Red Dead Redemption 2

Raging Bull Award for Best Fighting Game: Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake: Shadow of the Colossus

Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game: Christopher Judge as Kratos in God of War

The Andrew Yoon Legend Award: Jade Raymond

Captain Award for Best Rookie Esports Team: Knicks Gaming

Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism: Cecilia D’Anastasio