This Week in Rock Band DLC: Nirvana

This Week in Rock Band DLC: Nirvana

After celebrating 200 straight weeks of DLC for the Rock Band series last week, Harmonix is already celebrating something else.  This week, it is the 20th anniversary of Nirvana’s Nevermind.  To pay tribute to the classic grunge album, Harmonix is releasing a four pack of songs in the appropriately titled “Celebrating Nirvana Pack.”  Note that the entirety of the classic album already exists as DLC on Rock Band, so Harmonix has selected four of Nirvana’s greatest songs to celebrate the band.

This week, the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and Wii see:

  • Nirvana – “Heart Shaped Box”*
  • Nirvana – “Rape Me”
  • Nirvana – “All Apologies”
  • Nirvana – “You Know You’re Right”

As always, each song will cost $1.99 in real currency, or 160 Microsoft Spacebucks if bought individually.  The four songs will also be sold as a pack, the “Celebrating Nirvana Pack,” for $6.99, or 560 Microsoft points.  The tracks marked with an * will be upgradable to Pro-Guitar/Pro-Bass for an additional $0.99 (or 80 Microsoft points).

In addition to these four tracks, those of you who enjoy the Pro-Guitar and Bass Upgrades will be getting an extra bonus, with 10 previously released Nirvana songs getting the upgrades.  Those are:

  • Nirvana – “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
  • Nirvana – “Breed”
  • Nirvana – “Polly”
  • Nirvana – “Territorial Pissings”
  • Nirvana – “Lounge Act”
  • Nirvana – “Stay Away”
  • Nirvana – “On a Plain”
  • Nirvana – “Something in the Way”
  • Nirvana – “Lithium (live)”
  • Nirvana – “Come As You Are (live)”

Each of these 10 upgrades will cost $0.99 or 80 Microsoft Points.

Nirvana is widely considered to have revolutionized music, alongside other great Grunge acts as Pearl Jam and Soundgarden.  It’s awesome to see them celebrated, and it is awesome that Harmonix continues to recognize such greatness what seems like every week.