Three Kirby Games Release on Wii U eShop to Celebrate Character's Birthday

By Steven Santana

July 30, 2015

The first Kirby game, Kirby’s Dream Land for the GameBoy released on August 1, 1992, and to celebrate the pink character’s birthday Nintendo has released three Kirby games on the Wii U eShop. First up is Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards which released for the Nintendo 64 in June 2000. Then we have Kirby Squeak Squad for Nintendo DS which released in December 2006. And lastly we have Kirby’s Return to Dream Land for the Wii from October 2011. The first two titles are $9.99 while Return to Dream Land is $19.99.

The release of these Kirby games is also special due to Satoru Iwata’s work as producer on the first game, where he was a major help in developing Kirby’s Dream Land for the relatively new Game Boy hardware at the time.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

Video Trailers

Fracked - Demo Launch Trailer | PS VR
eFootball™ Official Reveal Trailer
Steven Santana

Born in Queens, raised in Vegas, living in Vancouver. 25, loves dogs, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, and long form video critiques.

Read more of Steven's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know