Ultimania Collection Memorializes Entire Final Fantasy Series


The Ultimania series is Square Enix’s personal brand of encyclopedias, books dedicated to various Final Fantasy games, revealing concept art, trivia, and developer interviews. Similar to what Nintendo and Dark Horse Comics are doing with the Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia release, Square Enix is celebrating their 25th anniversary by releasing three Memorial Ultimania books that detail the entire series, from I to XIV.

The first of the books, Final Fantasy Memorial Ultimania Vol. 1, will be 336 pages, covering Final Fantasy I through VI, which seems a fitting point to end on a milestone and start their second volume with a milestone. Final Fantasy Memorial Ultimania Vol. 2 will start with Final Fantasy VII, and curiously work it’s way only up to IX at 320 pages. Final Fantasy Memorial Ultimania Vol. 3 will be 336 pages, and covering the remaining games, from Final Fantasy X to XIV.

The Final Fantasy Memorial Ultimania collection will be made available in Japan on December 18, and hopefully soon in the West shortly after. For sample pages from the collection, check our gallery below, and for more news, stay tuned to DualShockers.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Masoud House

Born and raised in video games and "geek culture," Masoud has been bred off of fantasy worlds his entire life and doesn't see anything wrong with that. He loves RPGs (especially TRPGs), sandbox games, the sci-fi genre, dieselpunk, art deco, and anything that allows him to create. Having graduated from John Jay College with a degree in English and a minor in Creative Writing, Masoud hopes to one day pen the same novels, comics, movies, and video games he enjoys escaping into when the real world gets too boring.

Video Trailers

Destiny 2: Season of the Splicer - Season Pass Trailer
Wreckfest - Tournament Update & Off-Road Car Pack Trailer

Got a tip?

Let us know