World Video Game Hall of Fame Inducts Six More Games; Includes Zelda, GTA III, and More

on May 5, 2016 12:37 PM

The internationally-renowned World Video Game Hall of Fame at the Strong National Museum of Play has long been a tribute to the world of video gaming and the most culturally-relevant and well-known games on the world, with the museum having introduced a second wave of inductees to its Hall of Fame.

Following a previous shortlist of 15 nominees, the World Video Game Hall of Fame has announced six new titles that will be inducted into the hall for 2016, with the new inductees including the following titles:

  • Grand Theft Auto III
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • The Oregon Trail
  • The Sims
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Space Invaders

The six new inductees will be joining alongside last year’s titles, which included DoomPac-ManPongSuper Mario Bros., Tetris, and World of Warcraft. The Hall of Fame is within the Strong National Museum of Play, located in Rochester, New York.

 /  Features Editor
Ryan is the Features Editor at DualShockers, with over five years' experience in the world of video games culture and writing. He holds a BA in English & Cinema from Binghamton University, and lives in New York City.